Library Guides: African American Research & Archival Collections in the Pacific Northwest Collection: Moving Images

Moving Image Collections

Carlton Moss films and videotapes, 1953-1984
Films by an African American screenwriter and film director about Frederick Douglass, Charles White, and African-American women artists.
Armeta Hearst home movie collection
Home movies between 1950s and 1960s documenting travel to New York City and Canada by an African-Amerian couple from Seattle.

How to Find Moving Images

How to find moving images:

Special Collections has over 200 moving image collections, consisting of thousands of films and videotapes from 1915 to the present. Short 3-5 minute selections from these moving image collections can be viewed as part of the UW Libraries Digital Collections.

Collection Guides Search (Finding Aids)

Select moving image collections are also described in these online guides. Finding aids provide detailed descriptions of a collection, including background information about a collection and its context, identification of and description about the content of photographs or groups of photographs, and restriction information.

Other Resources

Some films and videotapes from the moving image collections are available for viewing in Special Collections without an appointment. Consult the list of available viewing copies. There are thousands of original moving image materials that have not been transferred or reformatted. It may be possible to learn about these materials and view them (depending on condition) by appointment. Contact the Film Archives Specialist (filmarc@uw.edu) for additional information about the full scope of the moving image collections.