Library Guides: African American Research & Archival Collections in the Pacific Northwest Collection: Photographs

Photos from the Archives

NAACP president Lacy Steele and another NAACP representative with Washington Governor Booth Gardner and Jean Gardner, circa 1985-1993 (UW Special Collections, photographer unknown)

Anti-discrimination march, Seattle, June 15, 1963. (MOHAI, Photo by John Vallentyne)

Bettylou Valentine in front of Martin Luther King, Jr., Memorial, Seattle, February 15, 1992 (MOHAI, Photo by Robert De Guilio)

Angela Davis is Innocent Pamphlet. Vietnam War Era Ephemera Collection (UW Special Collections, published by Free Angela Davis Coalition)

Photograph Collections

4th Annual Seattle Black Lives Matter Not Black Friday Protest November 24, 2017 Photograph Collection
Photographs of the 2017 Seattle Black Lives Matter Not Black Friday protest.
Blanche Morgan drawings and watercolors, 1937-1939
Watercolors, sketches of set and costume designs for WPA Seattle Negro Repertory Company by set and costume designer Blanche Morgan
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, Seattle Branch photograph collection, circa 1960s-1980s
Photographs of Seattle Branch, NAACP leaders, members and events.
Nettie J. Asberry Photograph Collection, ca. 1917-1941
Portraits collected by Nettie J. Asberry of herself and other prominent African Americans of the early 20th century.
O.S. Goff photographs, 1889
Photographs of African American, "Buffalo Soldiers," taken by O.S. Goff, a photographer at Fort Custer, Montana
Seattle Black Lives Matter March Photograph Collection
Photographs from the Seattle Black Lives Matter March, April 15, 2017.
Seattle Martin Luther King Jr. March Photograph Collection, January 15, 2018
Photographs from the Seattle Martin Luther King Jr. March, on January 15, 2018.
Shedrich Williams photographs, 1970-1975
Art prints by Shedrich Williams, an African-American Portland photographer.
Solidarity Against Hate March Photograph Collection, August 13, 2017
Photographs of the Solidarity Against Hate March
Theodosia Young photograph collection, 1860s-1980s
Photographs relating to Theodosia Young and her mother who was a well-known African American gallery owner and dealer in Seattle, Zoe Dusanne.
Tyree Scott photograph collection, 1966-1995
Photographs related to United Construction Workers Association demonstrations, events, and tours. The slides include images from Tyree Scott and Michael Woo’s trip to China in 1975, a trip to Cuba in 1975, Bakke Decision protests in 1977, and images related to the Ward’s Cove Supreme Court case.
Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) camp photograph album, circa 1935-1937
Album of photographs documenting two CCC camps.
Hercules F. Anderson family photograph collection, approximately 1948-201
Photographs and ephemera related to Hercules F. Anderson including Hull & Anderson construction projects, the Hull & Anderson truck and lumber yard, and the Anderson family and friends
Ivan King photographs and log books, 1983-2007
Ivan King was a Seattle activist and held many positions such as Associate Director of the Seattle Urban League; Director of Action Education Centers (AEC) for the Central Area Motivation Program (CAMP); Planner for the Seattle Model City Program (SMCP); Quality Control Supervisor for the Seattle Income Maintenance Experiment; and Affirmative Action Analyst in the City's Human Rights Department & Office for Women's Rights. King was also involved with the Seattle chapter of the Congress for Racial Equality (CORE). This collection contains approximately 55,000 photographic prints in 175 albums and 10 volumes of log books.
Seattle Urban League Photograph and Film Collection, 1947-1979
Images of League functions and events, annual meetings, public demonstrations, staff members, publicity shots, visiting guest speakers, and living conditions in the Central District. Also includes films and videotapes of League activities, including " Seattle Urban League Prese