Library Guides: African American Research & Archival Collections in the Pacific Northwest Collection: Digital Collections

Photos from the Archives

Women's March on Seattle, January 2017. (Photo can be removed upon request), Pacific Northwest Political Marches, Rallies and Parades Collection (UW Special Collections, Photo by Rachael Cummings)

Larry Bannock at Mardi Gras Day, 1986. Karen Morell’s Africa, New Orleans, and Trinidad Multimedia Collection (UW Special Collections, Photo by Karen Morell)

Digital Collections

Afro-American Project
The Afro-American Project includes interviews from people in the Black community, primarily within the Seattle area. These tapes were recorded by student field workers Larry Gossett and S. Leonard Bell between 1968-1970.
Blanche Morgan Illustrations and Designs
Blanche Morgan (1912-1981) was an accomplished costume and set designer, most notably for her tenure at the Seattle Negro Repertory Company from 1937-1939. The Seattle Negro Repertory Company produced plays that showcased Black talent within the area. This collection contains several of Morgan’s drawings of her costumes and sets.
Gary Greaves Oral History Digitization Project
This collection of interviews recorded by Gary Greaves during the late-1980’s and early-1990’s contains interviews with prominent Black activists from the Seattle Area including Aaron Dixon, the co-founder of the Seattle chapter of the Black Panther Party, and Dorothy Hollingsworth, the first Black woman to serve on the Washington State school board. The collection also includes interviews with everyday citizens.
Karen Morell’s Africa, New Orleans, and Trinidad Multimedia Collection
This collection contains records of live performances, formal and informal interviews, lectures, readings, images, writings, and drawings from many Black artists around the world. This collection is divided into three smaller collections based on geographical location: Africa, New Orleans, and Trinidad.
King County Snapshots – Black Heritage Society
King County Snapshots contains a compilation of photographs from 13 different organizations. The Black Heritage Society of Washington State, Seattle, WA is a non-profit organization dedicated to the acquisition, preservation, and exhibition of materials relating to the history and culture of African Americans in the State of Washington.
KRAB-FM Lesbian-Feminist Radio Program Recordings
This collection includes clips and recordings from KRAB-FM’s selection of Lesbian-Feminist Radio Programs during the 1970’s and 1980’s. The collection includes a few recordings regarding race and racism in relation to white, gay women and men.
Pacific Northwest Political Marches and Rallies
This collection consists of images of marches, protests, and rallies following the election of Donald J. Trump in 2016. The collection includes events in relation to Black Lives Matter, civil rights, human rights, and racism.
Richard V. Correll Collection
This collection contains images of art pieces from Richard V. Correll (1904-1990). Correll is best known for his black and white linoleum cuts, etchings, and woodblock prints that touched on themes of politics, racial inequality, and social justice.
Society and Culture Collection
The Society and Culture Collection continues to compile images and collections that cover many social, cultural, and political topics about many different communities within the state of Washington.
University of Washington Campus Photographs
This collection contains photographs that reflect the campus history of the University of Washington. There are images of protests, rallies, art shows, and other events that relate to Black students, issues, and movements.
UW Digital Resources guide for the Labor Archives of Washington
This is a portal for digital resources associated with the Labor Archives of Washington whose physical materials are housed at the University of Washington Special Collections Division. The Labor Archives cover a variety of topics, including civil rights, protests, and the Black community.

Moving Images

Special Collections has over 200 moving image collections, consisting of thousands of films and videotapes from 1915 to the present. Short 3-5 minute selections from these moving image collections can be viewed as part of the UW Libraries Digital Collections: http://content.lib.washington.edu/filmarchweb/index.html
Check out our Moving Images page on this guide as well.