Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!
University of Washington Libraries

Library Guides

African American Research & Archival Collections in the Pacific Northwest Collection: Visual Materials

This guide highlights archival and printed materials, photographs, and moving image collections available in Special Collections that relate to Black communities, political groups, and civil rights movements in the Pacific Northwest.

Photos from the Archives

African American baby in a box behind a can of Happy Time Cola, at a rally or protest, circa 1952-1988

Baby in a box behind a can of Happy Time Cola, at a rally or protest, circa 1952-1988. University of Washington Society and Culture Collection (UW Special Collections, photographer unknown)

Visual Materials

Our historical visual materials include collections of original black and white photographic prints, negatives, and moving images of mountains and mountaineering covering an extensive geographic area in the Pacific Northwest and Alaska.  

Like something you see?  We like to keep track of our images so we ask that you get permission for any public use. Get information about obtaining reproductions and permission for use from the Copyright & Use page.

UW Libraries | UW Bothell/CC Campus Library | UW Tacoma Library | Health Sciences Library | Gallagher Law Library
Responsible Use of Electronic Resources | Privacy | Terms