Research Guides
United States Federal Government Resources: A Civics Refresher
A Civics Refresher
Use these resources to learn more about the history and organization of the U.S. Federal Government or to learn more about how to become involved.
- iCivics"iCivics is a web-based education project designed to teach students civics and inspire them to be active participants in our democracy. iCivics is the vision of Justice Sandra Day O'Connor..."
- Civics Flash Cards for the New Naturalization Test (PDF)Includes the 100 civics (history and government) questions and answers for the new naturalization test. Also available in print.
- Encyclopedia of American Government and CivicsThis print resource offers essay-length entries on local, state, and federal government. A good source for the history of the U.S. Federal Government as well as the rights and responsibilities of citizens.
- The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political HistoryThis print resource covers American history, government, and politics from colonial times through the election of President Obama in 2008. A great resource for background information, or brushing up on the basics.
- Government: Citizens Rights and ResponsibilitesA collection of links that can help you learn about the history, structure, and function of the U.S. Federal Government.
- Ben's Guide to U.S. Government (for kids!)Ben’s Guide provides information and activities specifically tailored for educators, parents, and students in K-12. These resources can help teach about our government and how it works.
- Congress for Kids (from the Dirksen Center)Provides civics quizzes to test understanding of Congress.
- Legislative Process (Congress.gov)Short videos explaining legislative process.
Top Resources
These reference sources provide an excellent overview of the structure and function of the United States Governement. A reminder about the basics never hurts.
- The United States Government Manual (1995 - present)This is the official handbook of the federal government. The manual beings with reprints of the Constitution and the Declaration of Independence, and goes on to provide "comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches."
- The United States Government Manual (1973 - present)This resource, described above, is available in print from 1973 onward.
- The Oxford Guide to the United States Government (2001)
This link opens in a new window
Available online (Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus) and in print, this resource contains words, concepts and names related to the United States Government such as those you commonly hear and read in the news. You'll find short entries about Presidents and Supreme Court Justices (current through 2001) by searching by last name. Look up major supreme court cases or find out the real meaning of "pork barrel politics" in this resource!
Contacting Elected Officials
- Contacting Elected Officials: USA.govContact information for state and federal elected officials.
- Contact the White HouseFind contact information for calling or writing questions, comments, concerns, or well-wishes to the President or his staff. Another option is to send an email using the form found on the same page.
- Contact Your SenatorThis Senate directory provides a mailing address and web contact form for each U.S. Senator.
- Write Your RepresentativeThis service will assist you by identifying your congressperson in the U.S. House of Representatives and providing contact information.
Government of the United States
"Governmental power and functions in the United States rest in three branches of government: the legislative, judicial, and executive... A complete diagram of the branches of the U.S. Government may be found in the U.S. Government Manual."
Suggested Reading
Encyclopedia of American Government and Civics by ISBN: 0816066167
Fundamentals of Government Information by Call Number: ZA5055.U6 F67 2016ISBN: 0838913954Publication Date: 2016-04-01
A Historical Guide to the U.S. GovernmentISBN: 0195102304
Parties and Policies: How the American Government Works by ISBN: 0300137621
The Complete Idiot's Guide to U.S. Government and Politics by ISBN: 1592578535
