Skip to main content
Individual study space @ Research Commons now available by reservation. All other Libraries spaces are closed. Online resources and support are available 24/7! UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
Finding Dissertations in Music
Use the following resources to find dissertations on topics in music. Digital Dissertations in Musicology provides citations to music specific dissertations. Dissertations & Theses full text is a good source for downloadable PDFs of many dissertations, especially those completed since 1997.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
A comprehensive index to dissertations and theses from all fields of study. Includes 2.4 million dissertation and thesis citations from 1861 to present. More than 1 million full text dissertations are available to download in PDF. Narrow your search to music dissertations with keywords (e.g. theory or analysis) or using the subject name "music".
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
Records of dissertations (completed and in progress) in musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines. Records include title, author, and school, as well as RILM number and UM number (use this last one, as "Publication/Order no." to find abstract or full text in Dissertations & theses full text).
Search for recent theses and dissertations by UW students. You may also add your own thesis or dissertation to this collection.
Center for Research Libraries
CRL holds more than 800,000 doctoral dissertations and Habilitationsschriften from universities outside of the U.S. and Canada. The collection was built by deposits from member libraries and exchange or depository arrangements with almost 100 universities.
Search across 250,000+ UK theses for free and order full text quickly and easily.