Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Music Guide
- Find UW Music Special Collections
Music Guide: Find UW Music Special Collections
Viewing Music Library Rare Materials
Music Library special collections (manuscripts, audio collections) are available during the library's open hours, by appointment with one of the librarians.
UW Music Special Collections
Rare Music Scores
Music manuscripts and rare printed music scores
- Search UW Libraries Search
- Contact the Music Library to view scores
Music Library Digital Scores Collection
Digitized subset of our music manuscripts and rare printed music score collection
- Search the Music Library Digital Scores Collection
- Contact the Music Library for more information
William Crawford III Collection of Printed Music
Collection of first editions of vocal works (primarily operas in piano reduction) received as a bequest from the Crawford estate in 2014
- View the Printed Catalog
- Catalog Listings for Scores in Crawford Collection (including call numbers)
- Finding aid for archival collection (held at Special Collections)
- Contact Special Collections to view scores
Milton Katims Tapes & Scores
Tape performances conducted by Milton Katims and marked conductor scores
- For tapes, contact Music Library
- For scores, contact Special Collections
School of Music Faculty Papers
Papers, compositions, and recordings of present and former faculty members
- Search Archives West to see what is available
- Contact University Archives for more information
Soni Ventorum Parts & Recordings
Marked performance parts and performance recordings
- Contact Special Collections for parts
- Contact the Music Library for recordings
Ashford Sheet Music Collection
The Paul Ashford Sheet Music Collection largely contains music from and about Washington State and the Pacific Northwest.
- Search the Ashford Sheet Music Collection
- Contact the Music Library for more information
Baltic Choral Music Collection
The UW Libraries is developing a collection of Baltic choral music scores, sheet music, recordings, and related materials. This quick guide allows you to search the entire collection (some 900 items in 2012) by country (Estonia, Latvia, or Lithuania), composer's name, genre (choral, vocal, or instrumental) and medium (score, recording, book)
- Search the Baltic Choral Music Collection
- Contact the Music Library for more information
Pacific Northwest Sheet Music Collection
A subset of the Ashford Sheet Music Collection focusing specifically on Washington and Pacific Northwest Sheet Music.
- Search the Pacific Northwest Sheet Music Collection
- Contact the Music Library for more information
Hazel G. Kinscella Collection
Early American Hymnals & tune books, manuscripts and early editions of works by American composers
- Search UW Libraries Catalog
- View the Hazel Gertude Kinscella Papers
- Contact the Music Library for more information
Milton Katims Tapes & Scores
Tape performances conducted by Milton Katims and marked conductor scores
- For digitized selection of recordings, click here
- For tapes, contact Music Library
- For scores, contact Special Collections
Music of Northwest Composers
Recordings of music of select Northwest Composers performed by Joel Salsman
- View a Works List
- Contact the Music Library for more information
Offenbacher Mozart Collection
Early recordings of vocal music of Mozart on 78 and LP
- Search our online Finding Aid to the collection
- Contact the Music Library for more information
School of Music Recordings & Programs
School of Music ensemble recordings and program from 1928-present
- Search UW Libraries Search for recordings
- Search the School of Music Program Database for concert programs
- Contact the Music Library for more information
Soni Ventorum Parts & Recordings
Marked performance parts and performance recordings
- Contact Special Collections for parts
- Contact the Music Library for recordings
Music of Gloria Swisher
Recordings of Swisher's music performed by Joel Salsman
- Contact the Music Library for more information
Learn the words to our school fight song! This page covers the history of Bow Down to Washington and includes lyrics and recordings.
Learn more! Explore our fight song through this digital exhibit.
Rules for Using Special Collections
- All users must present either a valid UW ID or a picture ID card (for example, a valid driver’s license).
- Do not leave these items unattended at any time. If you must leave the table, give the item(s) to library staff first.
- Never place anything on top of special collections materials, or press the bindings open.
- Only pencils are allowed for taking notes.