Research Guides
Music Guide: Scores
Call Number Guides
- Call Number Guides By InstrumentList of call numbers sorted by instrument, courtesy of Queen's University Library
Browse scores virtually
Scores in the Music Library are shelved according to the Library of Congress classification system. Follow these steps to virtually browse our scores:
1) Identify the LC range you want to browse. For example, are you looking for string quartets? Those are shelved in M452.
2) Use the 'Browse' search in UW Libraries Search to browse by call number.
3) In the 'Browse by' pulldown menu, select 'Browse by Library of Congress call numbers.' Enter the LC range you want to browse. Use the arrows in the bottom right to navigate.
Online Scores
- A-R Editions Online Music Anthology This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Music from antiquity through the romantic era, with emphases on the Middle Ages to the Baroque. - Babel Scores This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online library of musical scores composed within the last 40 years. - Music Online: Classical Scores Library Volume 2 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to scores, including those by Claude Debussy, Gabriel Fauré, Maurice Ravel and more.
- IMSLP/Petrucci Music LibraryPublic domain music scores and parts.
- Women Composers CollectionA collection of mostly 19th- and early 20th-century digitized musical scores by women composers held at the University of Michigan Music Library.
Sheet Music
- Ashford Sheet Music CollectionThe Paul Ashford Sheet Music Collection largely contains music from and about Washington State and the Pacific Northwest.
- Pacific Northwest Sheet Music CollectionA subset of the Ashford Sheet Music Collection focusing specifically on Washington and Pacific Northwest Sheet Music.
- Baltic Score CollectionThe UW Libraries is developing a collection of Baltic choral music scores, sheet music, recordings, and related materials. This quick guide allows you to search the entire collection (some 900 items in 2012) by country (Estonia, Latvia, or Lithuania), composer's name, genre (choral, vocal, or instrumental) and medium (score, recording, book)
- Silent Film Scores and ArrangementsScores and Arrangements digital collection offers unique insight into the development of music and scores in film. The collection includes over 3,000 items published or created for use in silent film accompaniment between 1904 - 1927. These items include scores written for specific films, cue sheets that compile melodies for use at certain moments in specific films.
- Historic Sheet Music Collection, 1800-1922This sheet music collection consists of approximately 9,000 items published from 1800 to 1922, although the majority is from 1850 to 1920 [view finding aid for the collection]. The bulk was published in many different cities in the United States, but some of the items bear European imprints. Most of the music is written for voice and piano; a significant minority is instrumental.