Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!
University of Washington Libraries

Library Guides

UW Ethnomusicology Archives: Digitizing

The UW Eth­no­mu­si­col­ogy Archives has been col­lecting and curating unique ethnographic music recordings, films, and video since 1962.

About Digitization

To preserve and provide access to our collections, the Ethnomusicology Archives maintains a digitization and research lab in Suzzallo-Allen Library. Called the Ethnomusicology Archives Research & Reformatting Lab, or EARR Lab for short, it provides us with the tools and equipment to preserve, restore, and digitize a variety of media formats, including: 

  • 1/4" open reel audio tape
  • analog discs in a variety of sizes, speeds, and material types
  • micro and compact cassettes 
  • MiniDisc and DAT 
  • VHS (all regions), Hi8, and U-matic
  • MiniDV and DV

Due to capacity and funding issues, the EARR Lab is restricted to Ethnomusicology Archives use only. That said, Archives and Libraries Preservation staff are happy to share information about media preservation with the general public. Just Ask Us! 

UW Libraries | UW Bothell/CC Campus Library | UW Tacoma Library | Health Sciences Library | Gallagher Law Library
Responsible Use of Electronic Resources | Privacy | Terms