BISLEP 301: Law, Economics, and Public Policy (Walsh): News

Class research guide for BISLEP 301 at UW Bothell in Winter 2023.

Newspapers/Databases to explore for Research Paper Topic Exploration

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people, covering 1959-present.

Image: ScaarAT. The Future of Newspaper? 2009. Flickr. Web. 17 December 2013.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national, and international newspapers, 1980's-present.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current international, national & regional newspapers, 1980 - present.

The Japan Times Archives
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper page images, 1897-2016
Searchable collection of digitized issues of The Japan Times, The Japan Advertiser, The Japan Times & Mail, The Japan Times and Advertiser, and The Nippon Times; includes issues from March 22, 1897 through the final issue of the previous calendar year.

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text, 1990s-present. Newspapers, television and radio broadcast transcripts.
ProQuest Digital Microfilm This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized newspapers of the Boston Globe, Guardian (London), LA Times, NY Times, Spokesman Review, USA Today, Vancouver Sun, and Washington Post dating back to 2008

Image: Fagen, Adam. World headlines 1. 2008. Flickr. Web. 17 December 2013.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national, and international newspapers, 1980's-present.
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people, covering 1959-present.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text, 1990s-present. Newspapers, television and radio broadcast transcripts.
ProQuest Digital Microfilm This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized newspapers of the Boston Globe, Guardian (London), LA Times, NY Times, Spokesman Review, USA Today, Vancouver Sun, and Washington Post dating back to 2008
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Washington State, national & regional newspapers, 1980 - present

Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive of national television news broadcasts, 1968 to present.

Moving Image Archive
Large collection of moving images including cartoons, news, TV shows, Prelinger Archives, and more.
Universal Newsreel
Produced from 1929 to 1967, was released twice a week and shown before feature films and in dedicated newsreel theaters. Watch them now on Youtube or the Internet Archive.
World Newsreels Online, 1929-66
Collection of streaming videos that features full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the first half of the twentieth century. The collection is semantically indexed, allowing users to search by subject, year, historical era, historical event, people, and places.
More Television Resources
See more tv broadcast resources listed on the Communication subject guide.