Communication Studies (CMST): Articles & Databases

Starting Points for Finding Articles on Many Communication Topics

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and general interest sources in all fields.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles in communication, mass media and related fields.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles on film and television theory, preservation and restoration, screenwriting & more.
Gale Onefile: Communications & Mass Media Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and non-scholarly articles covering the communications field
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in all disciplines.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on American and Canadian history
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general interest sources and historical newspapers and other primary sources on the Black experience from ancient past to present day.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers and journals in all business disciplines.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education related scholarly articles and books
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive source for scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social and public policy literature from periodicals, government documents, books, and other sources.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic, research, and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines, 1872 to present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the field of sociology, including international literature and other related disciplines.

More subject databases . . .
Browse through our subject guides, and click on the "Find articles" tab to view more databases in your subject.

Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ulrich's directory to 300,000+ journals and other serials.

Read the article, and answer the following questions:

What is the main-point or argument?
What evidence does the author give to substantiate the argument?
a. How did the author get or derive the evidence (i.e., what is the information source for the author's evidence)?
b. Is the author's research adequate to support the argument?
How is the presentation of information handled? Is it balanced? Is more than one point of view given?
Who is the intended audience?
How effective is the layout (tables, illustrations, section headings, callouts, etc.)?
Who published this? What do you know about the reputation and style of the publisher?
What do you still need to know? What hasn't the author answered?
Explain how the article fits or does not fit your research assignment.