Open Student Work: Examples

This page highlights some examples of open digital scholarship projects involving students. Please contact us with any questions.

• "Badass Womxn in the Pacific Northwest" zine
• Washington Prison History Project
• Feminist Community Archive of Washington
• Community Voices oral history collection
• Diversity Center Archive

Site

Project URL: uw.pressbooks.pub/badasswomxninthepnw/

Find this project through the UW Libraries' Pressbooks site or the UW Libraries Search.

Description

This zine is a collection of biographies and portraits of badass womxn in the Pacific Northwest. Undergraduate students collaborated to create this resource that fuses ​multilingual poetry, art, and writing to celebrate and honor some of the strongest people you might not have heard of. It was created in an interdisciplinary ​gender, women & sexuality studies classroom led by Dr. Julie Shayne, librarians Penelope Wood and Denise Hattwig, and peer facilitator Nicole Carter.

Pedagogical Context

This zine is the end result of a one-quarter project in a 200-level Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences / Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies class at UW Bothell. Students worked on this assignment in parallel with readings, class discussions, and other assignments. Most students had not had previous experience with GWSS, zines, or Pressbooks/online publishing or open access.

Contributors and Roles

• Faculty
  • Visioned and designed assignment with collaborators
  • Led the work of peer facilitator
  • Communicated frequently and thoroughly with collaborators
  • Reached out to Kate Schatz, the project's inspiration, and arranged for an in-class Skype meeting with Schatz and students
  • Promoted the zine in many ways, including reaching out to womxn featured in the zine, connecting with UW Bothell Press, using IAS and GWSS communication channels, presenting at a conference, etc.
• Students
  • Peer facilitator contributed to project design team, helped with organizing and monitoring the work of student project groups, worked on final edits and publishing, contributed to outreach and presentations
  • Students enrolled in the class researched and wrote biographies, created portraits, and learned about making their work open
• Library 
  • Collaborated with faculty/student design team to develop assignment and syllabus, and to plan workshops
  • Provided access to and training for Pressbooks platform
  • Taught workshops on biographical research, open access, student rights and responsibilities in open environments, Creative Commons, Pressbooks
  • Consulted with faculty and students over the course of the quarter
  • Added behind-the-scenes technical augmentation to the project, including cataloging, image alt text, etc.

Tools/Technology

• Pressbooks open publishing platform, hosted by the Libraries
• Google Team Drive for sharing and storing original files

Publications and Press

• Student-produced video about the project
• UW Bothell Press

Site

http://waprisonhistory.org

Description

The Washington Prison History Project (WPHP) aims to provide researchers, policy-makers, students, and others with artifacts and scholarship related to the history and ongoing reality of mass incarceration in Washington state. It provides documentary evidence of the robust civil society that exists within the state's prisons and detention centers, as well as the complex linkages between prisoner organizing and the diverse communities that incarcerated people come from, return to, or are otherwise connected with. The project gathers documents of and testimonials by incarcerated people about issues ranging from criminal justice and the urban condition to popular culture and the natural world.

Pedagogical Context

The WPHP is a multi-year, multi-faceted digital scholarship project. Students have been involved in both short-term, single-course contributions, and long-term scholarly and technical roles.

Contributors and Roles

• Faculty
  • Procure collection items
  • Identify oral history narrators
  • Network with possible community partners or archival donors
  • Introduce students to archival and digital humanities methods
  • Manage social media profile of project
  • Supervise independent studies related to project materials
• Students
  • Prepare metadata
  • Conduct and transcribe oral histories
  • Conduct original research in the archives
  • With faculty and library, develop technical aspects of project site
• Library
  • Partner with faculty and students on project development, management, and outreach
  • Collaborate with faculty to teach oral history, archives, and metadata, and teach archive research workshops for related classes
  • Facilitate project site development, maintenance, and hosting
  • Host WPHP archive
  • Process WPHP archive materials, including metadata creation, finding aids, and preservation

Tools/Technology

• independently-hosted Wordpress site for project
• UW Libraries' CONTENTdm digital collection

Publications and Press

• Berger, D., Donea, M., Hattwig, D. and Rowland, D. (2019). A Counter-Archive of Imprisonment: The Washington Prison History Project. Public: A Journal of Imagining America, 5(2).
• Berger, D. (2019). Introduction. In John McCoy & Ethan Hoffman, Concrete mama: Prison profiles from Walla Walla (2nd ed., pp. 253-254). Seattle, WA: University of Washington Press & University of Washington Libraries.
• Donea, D. “The Warden Game: Power and Politics in a Recovered 1980s Text Adventure Game,” In Media Res, Dec 10, 2018.
• Hattwig, D., & Rowland, D. (2019). Afterword. In John McCoy & Ethan Hoffman, Concrete mama: Prison profiles from Walla Walla (2nd ed., pp. 253-254). Seattle, WA: University of Washington Press & University of Washington Libraries.