Research Guides
History: Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias help you figure out the who, what & where of a topic. Knowing the who, what & where of a topic is the first step in researching a topic and discovering the "how" and "why". Encyclopedias and dictionaries can provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. Many also provide a jumpstart on your research by listing related readings.
Major Encyclopedia Collections
Additional encyclopedias focused on specific regions and topics are listed under the various categories in History by Region and History by Topic.
- American National Biography This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Standard biographical dictionary for Americans in all field, only deceased are included - Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on contemporary & historic figures
- Brill's Medieval reference library.
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Brill’s Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, Encyclopedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles, Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage & Encyclopedia of the Medieval Chronicle - Daily Life Online
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of encyclopedias, primary sources and other works depicting daily life through history - Encyclopedia of Empire
- This link opens in a new window
"Covers empire in ancient, medieval, and modern periods, including European as well as non-European experiences of empire"
- Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of encyclopedias covering all subject areas
- Oxford African American Studies Center
- This link opens in a new window
Major encyclopedias on African American history including the African American National Biography
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Standard biographical dictionary for British in all fields, only deceased are included - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 70 dictionaries and encyclopedias covering all subjects - Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth articles covering 17 subject areas, many with historical content
- Pop Culture Universe
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of encyclopedias, primary sources and other works depicting popular culture of the 20th century - Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism
- This link opens in a new window
2000+ articles in 8 key subject areas: Literature, Architecture, Visual Arts, Music, Dance, Theatre, Film, and Intellectual Currents