Research Guides
Southeast Asian Studies: Find Books
A guide to resources and research on Southeast Asia
UW Libraries Search
Featured New Materials about SE Asia
Pop Convergence by ISBN: 9780197790212Publication Date: 2024-07-09
Political Warfare in Republican Vietnam by ISBN: 9781476668116Publication Date: 2024-08-30
Lives in Motion by ISBN: 9781032214283Publication Date: 2023-11-30
The Heart That Fed by ISBN: 9781982102937Publication Date: 2024-06-04
Confronting Christianity by ISBN: 9780824895747Publication Date: 2024-07-31
Buddhism Illuminated by ISBN: 9780295743783Publication Date: 2018-05-01
Border History from a Borneo Longhouse by ISBN: 9789463723459Publication Date: 2024-07-08
The Architects of Dignity by ISBN: 9780197770276Publication Date: 2024-09-24
Resistance Through Higher Education by ISBN: 9781529241068Publication Date: 2025-01-07
Chasing Archipelagic Dreams by ISBN: 9781501777745Publication Date: 2024-12-15
Sustainable Legacies: a Legal Inquiry into Pwds' Rights in Vietnam's Development by ISBN: 9789819795659Publication Date: 2024-11-28
The Nature of Kingship by ISBN: 9780824899806Publication Date: 2024-12-31
Refugee Protection in Southeast Asia by
Despite being long-term hosts to refugee populations, Indonesia, Thailand and Malaysia are not yet part of the 1951 Refugee Convention. In all three states, refugees are regulated as discretionary humanitarian exceptions to immigration legislation. With contributions from scholars within and outside the region, this book promotes new thinking on protection of refugees and on resolving tensions between states, actors and institutions in the region. It evaluates the key concepts of sovereignty, security and humanitarianism in this context, the different bases of protection by state and non-state actors and the meaning of responsibility and regionalism in Southeast Asia.
ISBN: 9781805397809Publication Date: 2024-12-01
The Archaeology of Early Colonial Manila by
A view into the diverse culture of the Philippines in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries Although Manila, capital city of thePhilippines, played a critical role in economic and cultural exchangesbetween the East and the West during the sixteenth and seventeenthcenturies, little is known about what life was like for its residentsduring this time. In this book, Ellen Hsieh uses archaeological,historical, and ethnographic resources to document the ways Manila wastransformed by the arrival of Spanish colonists in 1571 and how the cityin turn shaped the modern world.  Manila was uniquelypositioned as a crossroads in the networks of Southeast Asia, East Asia,and Iberia, resulting in a hybridized culture where colonial Spanish,Indigenous Tagalog, and overseas Chinese groups exchanged goods andideas. In The Archaeology of Early Colonial Manila, Hsiehanalyzes material goods such as ceramics from Intramuros (the Spanishwalled city) and Parian (the Chinese quarter) and illustrations from theBoxer Codex--a Spanish manuscript featuring images of people in thePhilippines and surrounding areas--to illuminate the diversity of Manilasociety and to unravel the intricate power dynamics among these ethnicgroups.  Bridging the gap in research between pre-Spanishand late colonial periods and amplifying the voices of non-elite,diasporic, and colonized communities often overlooked in historicaldocuments, Hsieh provides an important focus on Manila's contributionsto world history during a period of intense globalization.
ISBN: 9780813079219Publication Date: 2025-01-14
Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum by ISBN: 9789004536883Publication Date: 2024-04-24
Forsaken Causes by
In the wake of anticolonial struggles and amid the two world wars, twentieth-century Southeast Asia churned with new political, cultural, and intellectual realities. Liberal democracies flourished briefly, only to be discarded for dictatorships and other authoritarian regimes as the disorder and inefficiencies inherent to democracy appeared unequal to postcolonial and Cold War challenges. Uniquely within the region, Laos maintained a stable democracy until 1975, surviving wars, coups, and revolutions. But Lao history during this period has often been flattened, subsumed within the tug-of-war between the global superpowers and their puppets. Forsaken Causes offers a groundbreaking intellectual history of the Royal Lao Government (RLG) from 1945 to 1975. In Ryan Wolfson-Ford's account, the Lao people emerge as not merely pawns of the superpowers but agents in their own right, with the Lao elite wielding particular influence over the nation's trajectory. Their prevailing ideologies--liberal democracy and anticommunism--were not imposed from outside, but rather established by Lao themselves in the fight against French colonialism. These ideologies were rooted in Lao culture, which prized its traditional monarchy, Buddhist faith, French learning, and nationalist conception of a Lao race. Against histories that have dismissed Lao elites as instruments of foreign powers, Wolfson-Ford shows that the RLG charted its own course, guided by complex motivations, rationales, and beliefs. During this time Lao enjoyed unprecedented democratic freedoms, many of which have not been seen since the government fell to communist takeover in 1975. By recentering the Lao in their own history, Wolfson-Ford restores our understanding of this robust but often forgotten liberal democracy, recovers lost voices, and broadens our understanding of postcolonial and Cold War Southeast Asia as a whole.
ISBN: 9780299348601Publication Date: 2024-07-23
A Mystical-Political Pledge by ISBN: 9789042952966Publication Date: 2024-05-31
Holy Things by ISBN: 9780197759882Publication Date: 2024-08-09
General Tips for Searching Books in UW Libraries Search
- Try a keyword search either using English or the language you are looking for.
- Notice the subject headings on the useful books that you retrieve and click on those subject headings to find more useful books.
- Use the Advanced Search to limit your search to words in the title or subject, to limit by language, or by date of publication
- Use the Refine My Results bar on the left to narrow the scope of your search to. For instance, if you search on Vietnam War, you can find sub-topics by clicking on the Topics heading.
eBook Packages
- Southeast Asia Visions CollectionCornell University Library collections of historical travel accounts
- ANU E PressAustralian National University. Includes many titles on SE Asia, including a series on Islam in SE Asia
- The United States and its Territories, 1870-1925: The Age of ImperialismFrom the University of Michigan collections
- Mekong Institute: Publications SeriesResearch Working Paper Series available online.
- Library of the Friedrich Ebert FoundationSearch for online report series. Some in German.
- Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new windowContains abstracts and full text research papers, covering accounting, economics, Latin American, finance, and legal scholarship.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowCollection of humanities & social sciences electronic journals & 20,000+ ebooks.