Here is a list of all titles UW has licensed from Kanopy. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and select the 'Log in to Washington' button, select the 'Log in to Washington' button again, and then you will see the films that the UW Libraries has rented/licensed.
"The best Canadian destination for point-of-view documentaries, animation films, interactive projects and Canadian films. Watch over 3,000 captivating documentaries, feature films and animation films for free. Explore cutting-edge interactive projects that reinvent storytelling. Rent handpicked and award winning Canadian feature films and indie docs from around the world."
Arts, Dance, Film, & Music
See the UW Libraries' Research Guides for information about conducting research in the Arts disciplines.
Productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century covering ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, improvisational, and modern concert dance. (Dance Online; Volumes I and II)
A large web-based educational resource for avant-garde material available on the internet, founded in 1996 by poet Kenneth Goldsmith. It offers visual, concrete and sound poetry, expanding to include film and sound art mp3 archives.
This library of academic and cultural films features collections from the Academic Film Archive and the Media Burn Independent Film Archive, as well as a selection of documentaries created by Dorothy Fadiman. In addition, films from the University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archeology and Anthropology are presented including those by Watson Kintner who used film to document his world travels, and the popular television show from the 1950s: “What in the World?”
A National Preserve of Documentary Films about American Roots Cultures - streamed with essays about the traditions and filmmaking. The site includes transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites.
This collection from Kanopy contains a mix of documentaries and popular films related to the social sciences including anthropology, gener studies, human rights, law, LGBT, politics, race, sociology, and more.
An analysis of news and public affairs independent from traditional corporate media is available from this diverse video library. From Democracy Now's daily news program, to three days of TV news coverage following the 911 attacks, to Mosaic’s timely clips of Middle East newscasts, to UCSF's Tobacco Industry Videos: These collections offer an alternative way to view and interpret current news and public affairs.
In the pre-TV era, people saw the news every week in their neighborhood movie theaters. Newsreels were shown before every feature film and in dedicated newsreel theaters located in large cities. Universal Newsreel, produced from 1929 to 1967, was released twice a week. Each issue contained six or seven short stories, usually one to two minutes in length, covering world events, politics, sports, fashion, and whatever else might entertain the movie audience. These newsreels offer a fascinating and unique view of an era when motion pictures defined our culture and were a primary source of visual news reporting.
Universal City Studios gifted Universal Newsreel to the American people, put the newsreels into the public domain, and gave film materials to the National Archives in 1976. Surviving materials from the entire collection are available at the National Archives and Records Administration in College Park, Maryland.
Independently-produced videos on environmental issues, including the areas of ecology, agriculture, indigenous peoples, women's studies, genetics, sustainable development, community regeneration and marine biology.
Films Media Group streams documentary films and series through its Films On Demand service. Content covers a wide variety of subjects, from Anthropology to World Languages. The UW Libraries has licensed 100+ titles including some in Environmental Sciences.
"TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages." Their Environment Collection contains over 70 talks.
More than 7,000 historic public radio and television programs covering national, regional, and local issues including education, environmental issues, music, art, literature, dance, poetry, religion, filmmaking, and public affairs.
Land Acknowledgment: The University of Washington Bothell & Cascadia College Campus Library occupies Land that has been inhabited by Indigenous Peoples since time immemorial. Specifically, this campus is located on Sammamish Land from which settler colonists forcibly removed Coast Salish Peoples to reservations in the mid-19th century. Today, descendants of the Sammamish are members of several Coast Salish communities.