Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Washington Health Sciences Library

Health Sciences Library Collections Feedback

Request for Feedback on Potential Cancellations of Health Sciences Library Resources

About Collections Review

About the Collections Review

What?

The Health Sciences Library is inviting the UW health sciences community to provide feedback on a list of journal subscriptions. This is an initial list of journal subscriptions that are under consideration; it is not a list of subscriptions that the library is planning to cancel nor is it a comprehensive list of our journal subscriptions. After reviewing faculty, student, and staff feedback, the Health Sciences Library Collections Team will use their expertise to determine which journal subscriptions of the subset listed must be cancelled to stay within the budget.

More details about what the collections review is:

Due to the pace of serials cost inflation and to prepare for the possibility of a flat or decreased budget for collections in the 2021-22 fiscal year, the University of Washington Libraries is planning to cancel some journals and other subscriptions. Please browse the list of selected journal subscriptions to provide feedback (by either scrolling through the alphabetical list or using Control + F (Mac: Command + F) to find a particular title) and then click on the Submit Feedback link to the right of that title to help us construct a list of subscriptions that may be considered for cancellation.

As stewards of the Health Sciences Library collections and University funding, our hope is to move away from binary and zero-sum perspectives about allocations and expenditures. Instead, our intention is to engage in substantive and collaborative discussions that result in making the best possible decisions on acquiring, retaining, and cancelling subscriptions, given current resources and long-term implications on teaching and research at the UW (more details in the Principles & Rubric for Subscription Review).

To provide feedback on the UW Libraries' non-health sciences subscriptions, please see the Subscription Review 2021 (FY22) guide; the UW Libraries' list of titles differs in that they are asking for feedback on the titles they propose cancelling. The Health Sciences Library is first asking for your feedback and then creating a list of titles to cancel based on your feedback.

Why?

Budget constraints.

More details about why:

The Health Sciences Library has been affected by the increasing costs of inflation throughout the 2019-21 budget and by the expected flat or decreased 2021-23 budget. See the UW Libraries' Subscription Review 2020-2021 for more details and updates.

In preparation, Librarians and Libraries staff are providing this list of journal subscriptions to obtain your feedback to determine which journal subscriptions may need to be cancelled. We invite the UW community to explore the list and identify journals you consider essential to your teaching or research. This list is a subset of the UW Libraries' collections related to the Health Sciences Library budget.

Please note that submitting a comment does not guarantee that we will be able to keep the resource. Librarians will evaluate each title based on:

  • your feedback,
  • their knowledge of the discipline and departments, 
  • usage and impact metrics,
  • cost, and
  • value.

See more details on the Principles & Rubric for Subscription Review webpage.

After reviewing your feedback, the Health Sciences Library Collections Team will use their expertise to determine which journal subscriptions must be cancelled to stay within the budget. This final cancellation list will be communicated via email and on this webpage to the Health Sciences Community this Fall. If a journal you use is on the final cancellation list, we are committed to continuing to work with you to provide an alternative path to access the resources you need.

Who?

The UW health sciences community.

More details about who:

The Health Sciences Library is asking health sciences faculty, students, staff, and researchers across the health sciences community to tell us which journals are necessary for their work. Please browse the list of selected journal subscriptions to provide feedback on cancellations (by either scrolling through the alphabetical list or using Control + F (Mac: Command + F) to find a particular title) and then click on the Submit Feedback link to the right of that title. If you are not sure to which title the list is referring, please click on the journal title's link to see more information in the UW Libraries Search.

When?

Monday, May 3rd through Monday, May 31st, 2021. 

More details about when:

The Health Sciences Library is collecting feedback from the health sciences community Monday, May 3rd, 2021, through Monday, May 31st, 2021. Depending on the feedback received, the Health Sciences Library may request further feedback in Fall. 

In addition to this review period and changes to library collections, the UW Libraries will be evaluating some large interdisciplinary packages throughout this and the next two fiscal years. 

Questions or Feedback Related to this Guide?

If you have questions not answered here or feedback for the guide itself, please submit your question or feedback to the Health Sciences Library here.

Note: For research or reference related questions, please Chat with a Librarian via the Ask Us webpage

Your Feedback Requested

Provide Feedback on Selected Journal Subscriptions

Provide feedback on journal subscriptions for cancellation (UW login to Google required). Please find the journals that are essential to your work and let us know! We might have further questions about your responses; if you would like to be contacted while we review your feedback, please include your optional contact information. 

Please note:

This is an initial list of journal subscriptions that are under consideration; it is not a list of subscriptions that the library is planning to cancel nor is it a comprehensive list of our journal subscriptions. After reviewing faculty, student, and staff feedback, the Health Sciences Library Collections Team will use their expertise to determine which journal subscriptions of the subset listed must be cancelled to stay within the budget.

As stewards of the Health Sciences Library collections and University funding, our hope is to move away from binary and zero-sum perspectives about allocations and expenditures. Instead, our intention is to engage in substantive and collaborative discussions that result in making the best possible decisions on acquiring, retaining, and cancelling subscriptions, given current resources and long-term implications on teaching and research at the UW (more details in the Principles & Rubric for Subscription Review).

If the list of selected journal titles does not appear above, please go to this link to view and to provide feedback on the list of selected journal subscriptions.

If you receive a "You need permission" error, please clear your browser cache and try again..

Glossary

Glossary

Health Sciences Community

The health sciences community is made up of faculty, students, and staff across three campuses: UW Seattle, Bothell, and Tacoma. The Health Sciences Library serves the Schools of Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Public Health, and Social Work. The Health Sciences Library works closely with the Bothell and Tacoma Libraries, who serve the Nursing and Nutrition & Health Studies programs and the Nursing, Social Work, and Biomedicine programs, respectively. Health sciences librarians collaborate closely across campuses and libraries regarding collections, education, and services. 

General Terms

Biennial Budget

The University of Washington budgets operate on a two-year cycle. Therefore, the UW budget consists of two fiscal years, called a biennial budget; this can be contrasted to an annual budget which consists of one fiscal year. 

I.e., the FY20-21 Biennial Budget will end June 30th, 2021, and the FY22-23 Biennial Budget will begin on July 1st, 2021, and end two years later on June 30th, 2023. 

Collection

Libraries use the term collection to refer to all of the electronic, print, and other resources they provide. 

E.g., the Electronic Collection refers to all ejournals, ebooks, streaming media, point-of-care (also called evidence based practice) tools, and databases to which the library subscribes or has purchased.

E.g., the Print Collection refers to all of the paper books, journals, and reports the library owns. 

Fiscal Year (FY)

The University's fiscal year begins July 1st every year and ends on June 30th the following year. 

E.g., FY22 begins July 1, 2021, and ends June 30, 2022. 

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

The UW Libraries partners with libraries across the nation and world to make resources accessible to patrons. 

E.g., if UW Libraries does not subscribe to the journal from which you need an article, you may place an ILL request and the UW Libraries will obtain the article for you from another library for free. Please note that not every article or item is accessible via interlibrary loan but the Libraries will do our best to find the requested item for you. 

Single Journal Titles

Libraries can subscribe to journals in packages or as single titles. Libraries typically have very little say in which journals are included in journal packages; in contrast, the library can add and cancel single titles with much more flexibility. 

E.g., if UW Libraries would like to add a journal that is only available to libraries in a package, we must subscribe to the entire package to get access to that one title. Similarly, if the UW Libraries would like to cancel one title in a package, we must cancel all titles included in that package. Single journal titles are available to add and cancel independently from the library's other journals.

Subscription

Many of the Health Sciences Library resources are subscription only.

I.e., publishers and vendors sell subscription access to their electronic resources (e.g., an ejournal) typically on an annual basis. If the Health Sciences Library subscribes to one year of an ejournal, the subscription must be renewed the next year, typically at a higher price than the previous year's subscription price; this increase in price is often referred to as serials cost inflation, which averages 6% annually

Journal Cancellation Decisions

More information coming Fall 2021

The Health Sciences Library Collections Team will share the list of journal cancellations with their expected access end dates in this section of the guide in Fall 2021. This list will also be shared with the health sciences community via email. 

By soliciting your feedback, the Health Sciences Library Collections Team aims to elevate faculty, student, and staff voices above zero-sum perspectives about allocations and expenditures. Thank you for your feedback so far and for your understanding as the library endeavors to refine the collection while remaining on budget.

Health Sciences Library | 1959 NE Pacific Street, T334 Health Sciences Building, Box 357155, Seattle, WA 98195-7155 USA, 206-543-3390 | Privacy | Terms
CC BY-NC 4.0 Text on this page created by UW Libraries is licensed under a CC BY-NC 4.0 license. Images and video are not included. See details.