BIS 490: Asian American Media in the Pacific Northwest (Gustafson): Indexes to Microfilm

Print Newspaper Indexes

An index is usually a list of subjects covered that gives you information on where to find relevant articles (it provides the dates and page numbers). If you are looking for articles dealing with the Japanese American and Chinese American communities, use these indexes to find relevant articles, and then access specific articles via microfilm or online databases.

Note: These indexes are also available on the Newspaper Guides page.

If any of you are having difficulty accessing Access World News: Seattle Times, try using the UW Libraries Search record to access Access World News, login with your UW NetID, then click into the database, and click into the Seattle Times Collection.

• Chinese and Japanese in the Everett Herald February 11, 1901 to June 30, 1910
  • Open PDF version of index
  • Access Everett Herald articles via Microfilm A4694.
• Chinese and Japanese in the Seattle Star February 27, 1899 to December 31, 1909
  • Open PDF version of index
  • Access Seattle Star articles via Microfilm A2202.
• Chinese and Japanese in the Seattle Times May 16, 1889 to December 31, 1899
  • Open PDF version of index
  • Access Seattle Times articles via Microfilm A419 or via Access World News: Seattle Times.
• Chinese and Japanese in the Seattle Post-Intelligencer, June 5, 1876 to December 31, 1889
  • Open PDF version of index
  • Access Seattle PI articles via Microfilm A329 or via the Washington Digital Newspapers: Seattle Post-Intelligencer (1888-1900).
• Chinese and Japanese in the Seattle Post-Intelligencer, January 1, 1890 to December 31, 1899
  • Open PDF version of index.
  • The library also has a physical copy, available at Suzzallo and Allen Libraries MicNews Wall (E184.A75 L58 2005).
  • Access Seattle PI articles via Microfilm A329 or via the Washington Digital Newspapers: Seattle Post-Intelligencer (1888-1900).
• Japanese-Americans in the Seattle times : December 1, 1941 to October 31, 1945.
  • Open PDF version of index.
  • The library also has a physical copy, available at Suzzallo and Allen Libraries MicNews Wall (Z1361.J2 L58 1996).
  • Access Seattle Times articles via Microfilm A419 or via via Access World News: Seattle Times.
• The Chinese and Chinese Americans in the Seattle times : January 1, 1900 to December 31, 1909.
  • No PDF version of index.
  • Physical copy available at Suzzallo and Allen Libraries MicNews Wall (F900.C5 L58 1995)
  • Access Seattle Times articles via Microfilm A419 or via via Access World News: Seattle Times.
• Japanese American soldiers in the Seattle times : December 1, 1941 to October 31, 1945.
  • No PDF version of index.
  • Physical copy available at Suzzallo and Allen Libraries MicNews Wall (Z1361.J2 L582 1996)
  • Access Seattle Times articles via Microfilm A419 or via via Access World News: Seattle Times.
• The Japanese in the Seattle times : January 1, 1900 to December 31, 1909.
  • No PDF version of index.
  • Physical copy available at Suzzallo and Allen Libraries MicNews Wall (Z900.J35 L58 1995)
  • Access Seattle Times articles via Microfilm A419 or via via Access World News: Seattle Times.