BIS 490: Asian American Media in the Pacific Northwest (Gustafson): Secondary Sources (Scholarly Literature)

Database searching tips

Use databases to find citations (and sometimes full text) to articles and other materials. There are specialized databases for various subjects.

AND returns results containing all terms: Asian Americans AND education
OR returns results with either term: Mexican Americans OR Latinos OR Chicanos
Good for use with related terms or synonyms
Placing terms in parentheses ( ) indicates separate concepts, like an equation, (A or B) and C:
Immigration AND (Mexican Americans OR Latinos OR Chicanos)
Placing two or more words in quotation marks " " returns results using that specific phrase:
"African Americans"
Truncation * returns results with a root word and any ending: rac* [finds race, races, racial, racism ...]

Note: some databases use different truncation symbols (* is most common; others include !, $, #). Check the online help if the asterisk doesn’t work.

Subject-specific Databases

Asian American Studies

Journal of Asian American Studies
Journal of Asian American Studies is a specific journal, not a database, but is searchable through Project Muse.

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
English language publications in all subject areas, especially the humanities and the social sciences, related to East, Southeast, and South Asia.

History/Sociology

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on American and Canadian history
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the field of sociology, including international literature and other related disciplines.

Media/Communication Studies

Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles in communication, mass media and related fields.

General, Multi-disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and general interest sources in all fields.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in all disciplines.

Project Muse
Current issues of more than 100 scholarly journals primarily in the humanities & social sciences. Project Muse also contains thousands of scholarly e-books.

UW Libraries Search

Advanced Search | FAQ

Selected Books

Browse Asian American Studies eBooks
There are over 300 eBooks in the Project Muse database that are cataloged with the "Asian American Studies" subject area.
Asian American Histories of the United States
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2022
A nearly 200-year history of Asian migration, labor, and community formation in the US. Features the lived experiences and diverse voices of immigrants, refugees, US-born Asian Americans, multiracial Americans, and workers from industries spanning agriculture to healthcare.
Race and Media: Critical Approaches
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2020
A foundational collection of essays that demonstrate how to study race and media.
Asian American Media Activism: fighting for cultural citizenship
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2016
Providing a cultural history and ethnography, Asian American Media Activism assesses everything from grassroots collectives in the 1970s up to contemporary engagements by fan groups, advertising agencies, and users on YouTube and Twitter.
Two Faces of Exclusion: The Untold History of Anti-Asian Racism in the United States
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2016
From the Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882 to the Immigration Act of 1924 to Japanese American internment during World War II, the United States has a long history of anti-Asian policies. But Lon Kurashige demonstrates that despite widespread racism, Asian exclusion was not the product of an ongoing national consensus; it was a subject of fierce debate.
Asian American History
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2016
This title provides a narrative interpretation of key themes that emerge in the history of Asian migrations to North America, highlighting how Asian immigration has shaped the evolution of ideological and legal interpretations of America as a 'nation of immigrants'.
The Oxford Handbook of Asian American History
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2016
The chapters trace Asian American history from the beginning of the migration flows toward the Pacific Islands and the American continent to Japanese American incarceration and Asian American participation in World War II, from the experience of exclusion, violence, and racism to the social and political activism of the late twentieth century.
The Making of Asian America
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2015
The Making of Asian America tells the little-known history of Asian Americans and their role in American life, from the arrival of the first Asians in the Americas to the present-day.
Newspaper Coverage of Interethnic Conflict
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2003
Examines mainstream and ethnic minority news coverage of interethnic conflicts in Miami, Washington, D.C., and Los Angeles. Authors Hemant Shah and Michael C. Thornton investigate the role of news in racial formation, the place of ethnic minority media in the public sphere, and how these competing visions of America are part of ongoing social and political struggles to construct, define, and challenge the meanings of race and nation.