BIS 490: Asian American Media in the Pacific Northwest (Gustafson): Reference Sources

What are Reference Sources?

This page lists reference sources, mostly encyclopedias that you can use to learn more about a topic and develop your research question. The reference lists in these sources can also lead you to additional primary and secondary (scholarly) sources.

Asian American Experience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary sources, including images, audio clips, documents, and video, covering multiple dimensions of Asian American history and culture.

The Oxford Handbook of Asian American History
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2016
The chapters trace Asian American history from the beginning of the migration flows toward the Pacific Islands and the American continent to Japanese American incarceration and Asian American participation in World War II, from the experience of exclusion, violence, and racism to the social and political activism of the late twentieth century. The authors explore many of the key aspects of the Asian American experience, including politics, economy, intellectual life, the arts, education, religion, labor, gender, family, urban development, and legal history.
Asian American History: a very short introduction
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2016
This title provides a narrative interpretation of key themes that emerge in the history of Asian migrations to North America, highlighting how Asian immigration has shaped the evolution of ideological and legal interpretations of America as a 'nation of immigrants'.
Asian American History and Culture: an Encyclopedia
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2015
This exhaustive encyclopedia documents the history of Asians in America from earliest contact to the present day. Organized topically by group, with an in-depth overview essay on each group, the encyclopedia examines the myriad ethnic groups and histories that make up the Asian American population in the United States.
Asian American Society: an encyclopedia
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2014
This encyclopedia provides a thorough introduction to the wide-ranging and fast-developing field of Asian American studies.
Asian Americans: an encyclopedia of social, cultural, economic, and political history
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2014
This reference work addresses a broad range of topics on various Asian and Pacific Islander American groups from 1848 to the present day.

Online Reference Sources

Asian American Health
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, this website is an information portal to issues affecting health and well-being of Asian American in the U.S.
Densho Encyclopedia
A free on-line resource about the history of the Japanese American WWII exclusion and incarceration experience
HistoryLink
Free online encyclopedia focused on Washington State history.