Skip to Main Content

bullhorn iconFor the most current information on the status of Libraries operations, services and policies visit UW Libraries Operations Updates. Online resources and support are available 24/7

Research Guides

Architecture: Building Code Information

Subject Guide for Architecture and Architectural History Students.

Building Code Books at the UW

  • Building Inspectors' Hand Book of the City of Seattle, Washington, Containing Revised Building Laws for 1902; a Complete Hand Book of Building Ordinances for Architects, Contractors, Builders, Plumbers and Others Concerned in the Erection of Buildings, Bridges and Wharves. (Seattle, WA: Seattle Daily Bulletin, 1902.)

Location: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries   Special Collections Pacific NW   614.85 Se1b 1902

 

  • Bulletin's Hand Book of Building Ordinances of Seattle, Washington, Containing the Building Laws, 1904: a Complete Hand Book of Building Laws for Architects, Contractors, Builders, Plumbers and Any Who Are Engaged in the Erection of Buildings. (Seattle, WA: Seattle Daily Bulletin, 1904).

Location: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries   Special Collections Pacific NW   KFX2379.7 .A2 1904

 

  • Official Building Inspector's Hand Book of the City of Seattle, Washington, Containing Revised Building Laws, 1908 ... (Seattle, WA: 1908). 

Location: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries   Special Collections Pacific NW   614.85 Se1b 1908

 

  • Building Ordinances of the City of Seattle: And Other Information for Architects, Builders and the Employees of the Department of Buildings. (Seattle, WA: Lowman & Hanford S. and P. Company, 1909.)

Location: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries   Special Collections Pacific NW   KFX2379.7 .A2 1909

 

  • Building Ordinances City of Seattle, Official Edition, 1910 ... (Seattle, WA: Lowman & Hanford S. and P. Company, 1910)

Location: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries   Special Collections Pacific NW   614.85 Se1b 1910

 

  • Building Ordinances City of Seattle, Official Edition, 1912. Seattle, WA: Coast Printing Services, 1912). 

Location: Gallagher Law Library   Classified Stacks   KFX2379.B8 A2 1912

 

  • The Building Code of the City of Seattle and Other Data Useful to Architects and Builders, Corrected to March 14, 1914, (Seattle, WA: 1914). 

Location: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries   Special Collections Pacific NW   614.85 Se1b 1914

 

  • The Building Code of the City of Seattle, and Other Data Useful to Architects and Builders, Corrected to August 1, 1917 ... (Seattle, WA: 1917) 

Location: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries   Special Collections Pacific NW   614.85 Se1b 1917

 

  • The Building Code of the City of Seattle and Other Data Useful to Architects and Builders, Corrected to May 1, 1920 ... (Seattle, WA: 1920) 

Location: Gallagher Law Library   Classified Stacks   KFX2379.B8 A2 1920

Location: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries   Special Collections Pacific NW   614.85 Se1b 1920

 

  • The Building Code of the City of Seattle and Other Data Useful to Architects and Builders. (Seattle, WA: 1924). 

Location: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries   Special Collections Pacific NW   614.85 Se1b 1924

 

  • The Building Code of the City of Seattle and Other Data Useful to Architects and Builders ... (Seattle, WA: 1927)

Location: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries   Special Collections Pacific NW   614.85 Se1b 1927

 

  • The Building Code of the City of Seattle and Other Data Useful to Architects and Builders ... (Seattle, WA: Frayn & Company, Printers, 1928) 

Location: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries   Special Collections Pacific NW   614.85 Se1b 1928

 

  • Building Ordinances of the City of Seattle, 1937: and Other Data Useful to Architects and Builders. (Seattle, WA: 1937) 

Location: Gallagher Law Library   Classified Stacks   KFX2379.B8 A2 1937

Location: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries   Special Collections Pacific NW   KFX2379.7 .A2 1937

 

  • Building Code of the City of Seattle, WA: Seattle Building Department, 1943).

Location: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries   Special Collections Pacific NW  614.85 Se1b 1943

 

  • Building Code of the City of Seattle, Amended to 1946. (Seattle, WA: Seattle Building Department, 1946).

Location: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries  Special Collections Pacific NW   614.85 Se1b 1946

 

  • Building Code of the City of Seattle, Amended to 1947. (Seattle, WA: Seattle Building Department, 1947).

Location: Gallagher Law Library  Classified Stacks  KFX2379.B8 A2 1947

Location: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries  Special Collections Pacific NW  614.85 Se1b 1947

 

  • Building Code, Amended to December 1948. (Seattle, WA: Seattle Building Department, 1949).

Location: Engineering Library   Stacks-Floors 3&4   KFX2379.7.B8 S4 1948

 

  • Building Code of the City of Seattle, Amended to October 1950. (Seattle, WA: Seattle Building Department, 1950).

Location: Gallagher Law Library   Classified Stacks   KFX2379.B8 A2 1950

 

  • Building Code of the City of Seattle. Seattle (Wash.). Building Code Advisory Board. (Seattle, WA: Seattle Building Department, 1956).

Location: Gallagher Law Library   Classified Stacks   KFX2379.B8 A2 1956

 

Building code of the city of Seattle. Seattle (Wash.) 1958 Seattle Building Code Advisory Board

Location: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries   Special Collections Pacific NW   614.85 Se1b 1958

 

Building code of the city of Seattle. Seattle (Wash.) 1968 Seattle : Seattle Building Dept.

Location: Built Environments Library   Storage   614.85 Se1b1

Location: Gallagher Law Library   Classified Stacks   KFX2379.B8 A2 1958 (mismarked 1958 but should be 1968)

Location: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries   Auxiliary - Request online or at a help desk   KFX2379.7.B8 S4 1968

 

City of Seattle proposed building code. Seattle (Wash.). Building Department. 1976 Seattle

Location: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries   Stacks   KFX2379.7.B8 S4 1976

 

City of Seattle Building Code : ordinance 106350, effective May 7, 1977 Seattle (Wash.) 1977 Seattle, Wash. : Seattle Building Dept.

Location: Engineering Library   Stacks-Floors 3&4   KFX2379.7.B8 S4 1977

 

Seattle Building code supplement ordinance 108508 (effective October 17, 1979). Seattle (Wash.) 1979-

Seattle: Seattle Building Dept.

Location: Engineering Library   Stacks-Floors 3&4   KFX2379.7.B8 S4 1979

 

City of Seattle building code supplement: supplement to the 1979 edition of the Uniform building code Seattle (Wash.) 1979 Seattle : Seattle Building Dept.

Location: Gallagher Law Library   Classified Stacks   KFX2379.7.B8 A2 1979

 

City of Seattle building code supplement : supplement to the 1982 edition of the uniform building code : [ordinance 111200, effective September 10, 1983] Seattle (Wash.) 1983 Seattle : The Dept.

Location: Engineering Library   Stacks-Floors 3&4   KFX2379.7.B4 S4 1983

Location: Gallagher Law Library   Classified Stacks   KFX2379.7.B8 A2 1983

 

Seattle building code. Seattle (Wash.) 1991 Seattle, Wash. : Dept. of Construction and Land Use

Location: Engineering Library   Stacks-Floors 3&4   KFX2379.7 .A197

 

Seattle building code. Seattle (Wash.) 1994 Seattle, Wash. : Dept. of Construction and Land Use

Location: Built Environments Library   General Stacks   KFX2379.7 .A197

 

Seattle building code. Seattle (Wash.) 1997 Seattle, Wash. : Dept. of Construction and Land Use

Location: Built Environments Library   NW Reference   KFX2379.7 .A197 v. 1-2

 

Seattle building code. Seattle (Wash.) 1997 Seattle, Wash. : Dept. of Construction and Land Use

Location: Engineering Library   Reference-Floor 1   KFX2379.7 .A197 v. 1-3

 

2006 Seattle building code. Seattle (Wash.) 2006- Seattle : City of Seattle

Location: Online Access

Useful Building Code Websites

Most local building codes in the Western US relied on the Uniform Building Code (UBC) first produced by the Pacific Coast Building Officials Conference in 1927. (The PCBOC later would become part of the International Conference of Building Officials [ICBO].) City construction ordinances were supplements to the larger and more basic UBC and reflected local needs regarding fires, floods, earthquake risks and other frequent local events. The UBC was produced in the years: 1927, 1935, 1937, 1940, 1943, 1946, 1949, 1952, 1955, 1958, 1961, 1964, 1967, 1970, 1973, 1976, 1979, 1982, 1985, 1988, 1991, 1994, and 1997.  It was superseded by the International Building Code (IBC) in 2000, a reference resource produced after the merger of three separate organizations: the International Council of Building Officials (ICBO), Building Officials and Code Administrators International (BOCA) and Southern Building Code Congress International (SBCCI). into the International Code Council (ICC). The IBC represented a synthesis of ideas included in the ICBO's UBC, BOCA's BOCA National Building Code, and SBCCI's Standard Building Code. In 2021, the IBC is in use in 50 states, the District of Columbia, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam and the Northern Marianas Islands.