Skip to main content
Find Articles for Communication research
Communications and Mass Media Complete
Scholarly journal articles in communication, mass media and related fields.
Academic Search Complete
Includes sources on most research topics. Use the "Choose Databases" link to select and then search other databases provided by EBSCO, including CMMC and America History and Life.
America: History & Life with Full Text
The premier American History database provides citations to scholarly journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations.
Business Source Complete
Articles covering many topics related to Communication including advertising, media/entertainment corporations, finances, and more.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Core 20th century US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting & theater
World history from 1450 AD to date. Provides citations to thousands of articles, books, dissertations on Greek history.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Scholarly journal articles and more covering all aspects of linguistics.
Articles covering many topics in Communication including advertising, intercultural communication, journalism, media literacy, sex in the media, web 2.0, and more.
Indexes and abstracts articles from a wide range of sources; especially strong on political science, government policies and publications.
Search to find articles if your research topic is related to psychology or psychological topics.
Articles and citation linking for journals in biology, physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.
Many sociologists research and publish about communication-related topics. Search this database to find articles on many communication topics.
Web of Science
Includes citations for scholarly journal articles on most subjects.
Use Google Scholar to find journal articles, conference papers, theses & dissertations, academic websites and more in all subjects. Be sure to set your Google Scholar Settings by clicking on the button near the top of the screen. Select Library Links on the left and make sure "University of Washington Libraries - Check for Full-Text @ UW" is checked. This will link your results to UW Libraries e-journals.
How to Find the Article
If the fulltext of the article is not available directly in a database such as PAIS International, click on the button to find out if the UW has an electronic or paper copy of the journal article that you need. If there is no button, search for the journal title in the UW Libraries Search to determine if the UW owns a copy. Still not sure, contact Jessica!
Know your sources
Ulrichsweb is a directory to 300,000+ journals and other serials. Ulrichsweb will help you to:
- Identify which library database provides indexing and abstracting for a journal
- Identifies if a publication is scholarly or popular
- Identifies if a journal is referreed (peer-reviewed)