Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Communication Studies
- Journalism: History & Future
Communication Studies: Journalism: History & Future
This subject guide is a starting point for communication-related research, including mass media, speech communication, and more.
Journalism & Newspaper History: Quick Info
To find other encyclopedia entries on the history of journalism and newspapers search Gale eBooks and the Oxford Research Encyclopedias.
- Journalism (Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History)
This link opens in a new window
- Journalism (Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture)
- This link opens in a new window
- Journalism (Encyclopedia of Russian History)
- This link opens in a new window
- Journalism, Newspapers, and Newssheets (Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World)
- This link opens in a new window
- Newspapers (Dictionary of American History)
- This link opens in a new window
- Press and Newspapers (Europe 1789-1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire)
- This link opens in a new window
- Press and Newspapers (Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction)
- This link opens in a new window
- Yellow Journalism (America in the World, 1776 to the Present)
- This link opens in a new window
Current Trends in Journalism: Quick Info
For additional overviews search for entries in the Oxford Research Encyclopedia: Communication.
- Justice, Glen. "Misinformation and the Media." CQ Researcher, 28 Jan. 2022, pp. 1-30.
- This link opens in a new window
- McCutcheon, Chuck. "Trust in Media." CQ Researcher, 9 June 2017, pp. 481-508
- This link opens in a new window
- Price, Tom. "Future of Journalism." CQ Researcher, 27 Mar. 2009, pp. 273-96.
- This link opens in a new window
- Price, Tom. "The News Media." CQ Researcher, 18 Sept. 2020, pp. 1-30
- This link opens in a new window
Book Sampler: History
These are a sampling of books on the history of journalism. To find additional books use UW Libraries Search.
America's Last Great Newspaper War by
A from-the-trenches view of New York Daily News and New York Post runners and photographers as they stop at nothing to break the story and squash their tabloid arch-rivals. When author Mike Jaccarino was offered a job at the Daily News in 2006, he was asked a single question: "Kid, what are you going to do to help us beat the Post?" That was the year things went sideways at the News, when the New York Post surpassed its nemesis in circulation for the first time in the history of both papers. Tasked with one job--crush the Post--Jaccarino here provides the behind-the-scenes story of how the runners and shooters on both sides would do anything and everything to get the scoop before their opponents. The New York Daily News and the New York Post have long been the Hatfields and McCoys of American media: two warring tabloids in a town big enough for only one of them. As digital news rendered print journalism obsolete, the fight to survive in NYC became an epic, Darwinian battle. In America's Last Great Newspaper War, Jaccarino exposes the untold story of this tabloid death match of such ferocity and obsession its like has not occurred since Pulitzer- Hearst. Told through the eyes of hungry "runners" (field reporters) and "shooters" (photographers) who would employ phony police lights to overcome traffic, Mike Jaccarino's memoir unmasks the do-whatever-it-takes era of reporting--where the ends justified the means and nothing was off-limits. His no-holds-barred account describes sneaking into hospitals, months-long stakeouts, infiltrating John Gotti's crypt, bidding wars for scoops, high-speed car chases with Hillary Clinton, O.J. Simpson, and the baby mama of a philandering congressman--all to get that coveted front-page story. Today, few runners and shooters remain on the street. Their age and exploits are as bygone as the News-Post war and American newspapers, generally. Where armies once battled, often no one is covering the story at all. Funding for this book was provided by: Furthermore: a program of the J. M. Kaplan Fund
The Grapevine of the Black South by
In the summer of 1928, William Alexander Scott began a small four-page weekly with the help of his brother Cornelius. In 1930 his Atlanta World became a semiweekly, and the following year W. A. began to implement his vision for a massive newspaper chain based out of Atlanta: the Southern Newspaper Syndicate, later dubbed the Scott Newspaper Syndicate. In April 1931 the World had become a triweekly, and its reach began drifting beyond the South. With The Grapevine of the Black South, Thomas Aiello offers the first critical history of this influential newspaper syndicate, from its roots in the 1930s through its end in the 1950s. At its heyday, more than 240 papers were associated with the Syndicate, making it one of the biggest organs of the black press during the period leading up to the classic civil rights era (1955-68). In the generation that followed, the Syndicate helped formalize knowledge among the African American population in the South. As the civil rights movement exploded throughout the region, black southerners found a collective identity in that struggle built on the commonality of the news and the subsequent interpretation of that news. Or as Gunnar Myrdal explained, the press was ?the chief agency of group control. It [told] the individual how he should think and feel as an American Negro and create[d] a tremendous power of suggestion by implying that all other Negroes think and feel in this manner.? It didn't create a complete homogeneity in black southern thinking, but it gave thinkers a similar set of tools from which to draw.
The Mexican Press and Civil Society, 1940-1976 by
Mexico today is one of the most dangerous places in the world to report the news, and Mexicans have taken to the street to defend freedom of expression. As Benjamin T. Smith demonstrates in this history of the press and civil society, the cycle of violent repression and protest over journalism is nothing new. He traces it back to the growth in newspaper production and reading publics between 1940 and 1976, when a national thirst for tabloids, crime sheets, and magazines reached far beyond the middle class. As Mexicans began to view local and national events through the prism of journalism, everyday politics changed radically. Even while lauding the liberty of the press, the state developed an arsenal of methods to control what was printed, including sophisticated spin and misdirection techniques, covert financial payments, and campaigns of threats, imprisonment, beatings, and even murder. The press was also pressured by media monopolists tacking between government demands and public expectations to maximize profits, and by coalitions of ordinary citizens demanding that local newspapers publicize stories of corruption, incompetence, and state violence. Since the Cold War, both in Mexico City and in the provinces, a robust radical journalism has posed challenges to government forces.
Politics, Culture, and the Irish American Press by
From the Revolutionary War forward, Irish immigrants have contributed significantly to the construction of the American Republic. Scholars have documented their experiences and explored their social, political, and cultural lives in countless books. Offering a fresh perspective, this volume traces the rich history of the Irish American diaspora press, uncovering the ways in which a lively print culture forged significant cultural, political, and even economic bonds between the Irish living in America and the Irish living in Ireland. As the only mass medium prior to the advent of radio, newspapers served to foster a sense of identity and a means of acculturation for those seeking to establish themselves in the land of opportunity. Irish American newspapers provided information about what was happening back home in Ireland as well as news about the events that were occurring within the local migrant community. They framed national events through Irish American eyes and explained the significance of what was happening to newly arrived immigrants who were unfamiliar with American history or culture. They also played a central role in the social life of Irish migrants and provided the comfort that came from knowing that, though they may have been far from home, they were not alone. Taking a long view through the prism of individual newspapers, editors, and journalists, the authors in this volume examine the emergence of the Irish American diaspora press and its profound contribution to the lives of Irish Americans over the course of the last two centuries.
Sports Journalism by
Patrick S. Washburn and Chris Lamb tell the full story of the past, the present, and to a degree, the future of American sports journalism. Sports Journalism chronicles how and why technology, religion, social movements, immigration, racism, sexism, social media, athletes, and sportswriters and broadcasters changed sports as well as how sports are covered and how news about sports are presented and disseminated. One of the influential factors in sports coverage is the upswing in the number of women sports reporters in the last forty years. Sports Journalism also examines the ethics of sports journalism, how sports coverage frequently has differed from that of non-sports news, and how the internet has spawned a set of new ethical issues.
Vigilante Newspapers by
This riveting work of social history documents the role the news media played in spurring two murders revolving around Edmund Creffield, a charismatic "Holy Roller" evangelist who arrived in Corvallis, Oregon, in 1903 and quickly enraged the citizenry by defiantly challenging the religious and sexual mores of the time. When ardent female followers began refusing to speak to their nonbelieving husbands, vigilantes tarred and feathered Creffield, eventually forcing him to flee to Seattle. Once there, Creffield was murdered by George Mitchell, the brother of one of his followers. The news media in Seattle and Oregon applauded George's defense of his sister Esther's honor, influencing the jury. Citing temporary insanity, the jury quickly acquitted George, pleasing the cheering crowds and the approving media. As George prepared to return to Oregon, however, Esther shot him point-blank at Union Station and another moralizing media frenzy broke out. Esther was sent to Western State Hospital and committed suicide after her release. Her short life was among the most poignant of the dozens wrecked by the controversy. Gerald Baldasty's examination of Seattle and Oregon media coverage shows the tenacity with which frontier media protected traditional mores, particularly the notion that men are responsible for women's purity and have the right to take action if they feel another man has besmirched a woman's honor. Expertly crafted in a brisk, accessible style, Vigilante Newspapers illustrates through the tragic tale of Edmund Creffield, George Mitchell, and Esther Mitchell how the news media defined social deviance using vague concepts such as hysteria and temporary insanity, vigorously defending the established order of religious, class, and gender norms.
Book Sampler: Future
These are a sampling of books on the future of journalism. To find additional books use UW Libraries Search.
Automating the News: How Algorithms Are Rewriting the Media by
From hidden connections in big data to bots spreading fake news, journalism is increasingly computer-generated. Nicholas Diakopoulos explains the present and future of a world in which algorithms have changed how the news is created, disseminated, and received, and he shows why journalists--and their values--are at little risk of being replaced.
Digital Journalism, Drones, and Automation by
The lure of big data and analytics has produced new partnerships between news media and social media and consequently a fragmentation of digital journalism. The era is coupled with the rise in fake news and controversial data sharing. However, creative mobile reporting and civilian drones set new standards for journalist during the European asylum seeker crisis. Yet the focus on data and remote cloud servers continues to dominate online news and journalism, alongside new semantic models for data personalization. News tags that define concepts within a news story to assist search, are now monetized abstractions in accelerated data processing that enables automation and feeds advertising. Can journalism compete with this by defining its own concepts with ethical values named and embedded in algorithms? Can machines make sense of the world in the same way as a traditional journalist? In this book, Cate Dowd analyzes the tasks and ethics of journalists and questions how intelligent machines could simulate ethical human behaviors to better understand the dizzy post-human world of online data. Looking to digital journalism and multi-platform news media, from studios and integrated media systems to mobile reporting in the field, Dowd assesses how data and digital technology has impacted on journalism over the past decade. Dowd's research is informed by in-depth participation with investigative journalists, including images drawn and annotated by industry experts to present key journalism concepts, priorities, and values. Chapters explore approaches for the elicitation of vocabulary for journalism and design methods to embed values and ethics into algorithms for the era of automation and big data. Digital Journalism, Drones, and Automation provides insights into the lasting values of journalism processes and equips readers interested in entering or understanding online data and news media with much needed context and wisdom.
Journalism and Truth in an Age of Social Media by
This volume gathers leading scholars in the fields of journalism and communication studies, philosophy, and the social sciences to examine critical questions of how we should understand journalism's changing landscape as it relates to fundamental questions about the role of truth and information in society. Identifying and communicating truth is an age-old concern, greatly exacerbated and amplified by the onslaught of social media.
The Return of the Moguls: How Jeff Bezos and John Henry Are Remaking Newspapers for the Twenty-First Century by
The Return of the Moguls chronicles an important story in the making, one that will affect more than just the newspaper business--it has the power to change democracy as we know it. Over the course of a generation, the story of the daily newspaper has been an unchecked slide from record profitability and readership to plummeting profits, increasing irrelevance, and inevitable obsolescence. The forces killing major dailies, alternative weeklies, and small-town shoppers are well understood--or seem obvious in hindsight, at least--and the catalog of publications that have gone under reads like a who's who of American journalism. During the past half-century, old-style press barons gave way to a cabal of corporate interests unable or unwilling to invest in the future even as technological change was destroying their core business. The Taylor family sold the Boston Globe to the New York Times Company in 1993 for a cool $1.1 billion. Twenty years later, the Times Company resold it for just $70 million. The unexpected twist to the story, however, is not what they sold it for but who they sold it to: John Henry, the principal owner of the Boston Red Sox. A billionaire who made his money in the world of high finance, Henry inspired optimism in Boston because of his track record as a public-spirited business executive--and because his deep pockets seemed to ensure that the shrunken newspaper would not be subjected to further downsizing. In just a few days, the sale of the Globe was overtaken by much bigger news: Jeff Bezos, the founder of Amazon and one of the world's richest people, had reached a deal to buy the Washington Post for $250 million. Henry's ascension at the Globe sparked hope. Bezos's purchase seemed to inspire nothing short of ecstasy, as numerous observers expressed the belief that his lofty status as one of our leading digital visionaries could help him solve the daunting financial problems facing the newspaper business. Though Bezos and Henry are the two most prominent individuals to enter the newspaper business, a third preceded them. Aaron Kushner, a greeting-card executive, acquired California's Orange County Register in July 2012 and then pursued an audacious agenda, expanding coverage and hiring journalists in an era when nearly all other newspaper owners were trying to avoid cutting both. The newspaper business is at a perilous crossroads. This essential book explains why, and how today's new crop of media moguls might help it to survive.
The Routledge Handbook of Developments in Digital Journalism Studies by
The Routledge Handbook of Developments in Digital Journalism Studies offers a unique and authoritative collection of essays that report on and address the significant issues and focal debates shaping the innovative field of digital journalism studies. In the short time this field has grown, aspects of journalism have moved from the digital niche to the digital mainstay, and digital innovations have been 'normalized' into everyday journalistic practice. These cycles of disruption and normalization support this book's central claim that we are witnessing the emergence of digital journalism studies as a discrete academic field. Essays bring together the research and reflections of internationally distinguished academics, journalists, teachers, and researchers to help make sense of a reconceptualized journalism and its effects on journalism's products, processes, resources, and the relationship between journalists and their audiences. The handbook also discusses the complexities and challenges in studying digital journalism and shines light on previously unexplored areas of inquiry such as aspects of digital resistance, protest, and minority voices. The Routledge Handbook of Developments in Digital Journalism Studies is a carefully curated overview of the range of diverse but interrelated original research that is helping to define this emerging discipline. It will be of particular interest to undergraduate and postgraduate students studying digital, online, computational, and multimedia journalism.
Smartphones and the News by
This book reviews recent studies into smartphones and the news, and argues that the greatest impact on news of the smartphone as a dominant technological artefact is to shift it away from an authoritative, fixed 'first draft of history' to become a fluid, flexible stream of information from which each individual constructs their own meaning. The news has taken on a new life, fragmented by five billion smartphones, disrupting not just an industry but also the significance of the news in societies worldwide. This book considers how the smartphone has changed the production of journalism through contributions from the general public, the dominance of visual over textual media, the shift towards brevity, the challenges of verification, and the possibilities offered by the multi-skilled mobile journalist, or MoJo. The book looks at the manner in which news is promoted and distributed via smartphones, specifically its place on social media. Finally, it considers how news-on-smartphones fits into consumers' lives, and how their use of the smartphone to access news is impacting back on its production. This is an insightful research text for journalism students and scholars with an interest in digital journalism, new media, and the intersection between technology and communication.
