Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Communication Studies
- UW Comm Resources A to Z
Communication Studies: UW Comm Resources A to Z
This subject guide is a starting point for communication-related research, including mass media, speech communication, and more.
Popular Communication-Related Resources from A to Z
This list is not comprehensive, but it includes many UW Libraries databases (
UW-Restricted) used for communication-related research. The databases include popular and scholarly articles, images, video, public opinion data, consumer data, and more.
- 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text 17th and 18th century British newspapers
- Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text, 1980s-present. Newspapers, transcripts, wire services, broadcasts. Includes the Seattle Times from 1985 to the present and the Seattle Post-Intelligencer from 1986 to the present. - African American Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
19th century newspaper page images, 1827 - 1902, including photos and illustrations.
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press. - America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on American and Canadian history - Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature reviews in the biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
- Atlanta ConstitutionSearchable database of newspaper page images, 1868-1984. For issues published after 1984, use Access World News or LexisNexis Academic.
- Baltimore Afro American
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1893-1988
- Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window Racial justice and diversity films. Also includes the SNCC Legacy Video Collection. Cutting-edge racial justice and diversity films that inspire, educate and engage audiences. Additionally, Black Studies in Video features access to the SNCC Legacy Video Collection, a series of formal addresses, panel discussions and programs that took place at a conference and reunion unfolding over four days at Shaw University in Raleigh, North Carolina, commemorating the 50th Anniversary of the founding of the Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee.
- This link opens in a new window
- Chicago Defender
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1905-1975. For 1975 to 1996, use Microfilm A4066. For 1999 to present, use Ethnic NewsWatch.
- Chinese Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper page images, 1832-1953. English language newspapers including North China Herald 1850-1941 & Chinese Recorder 1868-1941 - Communication Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazine, Trade, and Scholarly Journal articles covering communication, mass media, speech communication, and other related subjects. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive reports on social issues published from 1923 to the present. - Early American Newspapers Series II This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper page images, 1820-1860 Included within the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection. - eMarketer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Market research reports and statistics on digital consumers and online marketing strategies. - Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
- This link opens in a new window
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people, covering 1959-present. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Local, regional and international newspapers, trade publications, press releases, media transcripts, and news websites. Husky OnNet is required for off-campus access. - Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles on film and television theory, preservation and restoration, screenwriting & more. - Foreign Broadcast Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
English-language summaries of local reports from news outlets worldwide. - Gartner This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Research and analysis on technology management issues and trends. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowScholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
See help for accessing articles from off-campus through Google Scholar.
- Guardian & Observer
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images through 2003. Includes the two British newspapers, Guardian 1821-2003 and Observer 1791-2003.
Library also has the Guardian from 1962 to present on Microfilm A4616.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
US alternative press publications dating mostly from the 1960s-1990s; includes ethnic, feminist, underground, antiwar, etc.
- Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of 25 Japanese relocation camp newspapers, 1942 - 1945. (Gale Archives Unbound) - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Back issues of scholarly journals in all disciplines.
- Los Angeles Times
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1881-1994. For coverage from 1995 to the present, use LexisNexis.
- Meet the Press This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video archive of the weekly American television news/interview program, 1947-2003. - Mintel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Consumer demographics, lifestyle, and product trend analysis.
- New York Times
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1851-2014. For 1990s to present, use NexisUni or ProQuest GlobalNewsstream.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, annotated listing of important sources on social sciences and humanities subjects, including bibliographies for Communication, Cinema and Media Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and more.
- Pittsburgh Courier
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1911-2002
- Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of encyclopedias, primary sources and other works depicting popular culture of the 20th century - ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search all of our ProQuest historical newspapers at once. Includes Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Chinese Newspapers Collection, The Guardian and The Observer, LA Times, NY Times, Pittsburgh Courier, Times fo India, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. - Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of humanities & social sciences electronic journals & 20,000+ ebooks. - Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US national opinion surveys, 1935 - present. Includes data from academic, commercial, and media survey organizations such as Gallup, Harris Interactive, Pew Research, and more. From the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. UW is a member of the Roper Center.
Create a personalized account using the "sign in" link. This will allow you to download data sets through RoperExpress. - SAGE Research Methods Online (SRM) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, case studies, datasets, and video covering the practices of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods research methodologies. See SRM Guide
- Seattle TimesNewspaper page images for Dec 1895-1984 and 2018 to current. Text only for 1985-2017.
1895-1984 also included within the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection.
For 1886 to current on microfilm A419 held in the microforms & newspapers collection. - Times (of London)
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1785-1985 - Times of India
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1838-2005. Library also has 1861-2003 on Microfilm A5725
- Underground & Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels This link opens in a new window North American and European adult comic books and graphic novels. Includes secondary sources about the comics and novels. Primary source database focusing on North American and European adult comic books and graphic novels. The collection includes original material from the 1960s to today along with interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines. At completion, this collection will include more than 100,000 pages of materials, including 75,000 pages of primary materials, and more than 25,000 pages of materials about comics–interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism–from The Comics Journal and other secondary sources.
- This link opens in a new window
- Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Network news broadcasts; video of CNN and NBC news - Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized, full-color images of every issue of Vogue magazine from 1892 to the present
- Wall Street Journal
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1889-2000. For more recent coverage, use ProQuest Newsstand (1982-present). - Washington Post
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1887-2001. For 2002 to present, use LexisNexis Academic.
- World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical newspapers from around the world.
Where's my favorite resource?
Is your favorite UW library resource missing from this list? Email Jessica to suggest that it be added.
More Useful Tools
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowScholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
See help for accessing articles from off-campus through Google Scholar.