Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Communication Studies
- International & Transcultural
Communication Studies: International & Transcultural
This subject guide is a starting point for communication-related research, including mass media, speech communication, and more.
Media Systems
Use the sources below to learn about the media systems (internet, press, radio, television) in countries around the world.
- Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
This link opens in a new window
- The International Encyclopedia of Communication
- This link opens in a new window
- The international encyclopedia of intercultural communication
- This link opens in a new window
- The International Encyclopedia of Journalism Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- Online around the World: A Geographic Encyclopedia of the Internet, Social Media, and Mobile Apps
- This link opens in a new window
- World Press Encyclopedia: A Survey of Press Systems Worldwide
- This link opens in a new window
Book Sampler
The UW Libraries has many books about international and transcultural communication. To find books, use UW Libraries Search.
If you prefer to browse through the books in the stacks, begin in Suzzallo/Allen Stacks HM 258 (Intercultural Communication) and JZ5-JZ6530 (International Relations).
Some books in the UW Libraries:
Global Media Companies & Industries
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information about 10,000 public companies worldwide.
- Research Studies on Media OwnershipPublished by the FCC
- Who Owns What GuideColumbia Journalism Review's (CJR) guide to what the major media companies own.
Data & Statistics
- Comtrade (United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database)The Comtrade database is a product of the United Nations Statistics Division and is the most comprehensive source for world trade data.
- European Marketing Data & Statistics
- This link opens in a new window
Demographic trends and forecasts, economic indicators, labor force, trade, energy, environment, consumer expenditures and market size, and retailing information for European countries. Available both in print and online (from 2010).
- Global Financial Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to over 20,000 series of long-term global financial and economic data, both current and historic, gathered from original sources and historic archives, for more than 200 countries. Data is in ASCII or Microsoft Excel format.
- IMF (International Monetary Fund) Data & StatisticsThe International Monetary fund's International Financial Statistics database is a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance.
- International Marketing Data and Statistics
- This link opens in a new window
Demographic trends and forecasts, economic indicators, labor force, trade, energy, environment, consumer expenditures and market size, and retailing information for the Americas, Asia, Africa and Oceania; companion volume to European marketing data and statistics. Available both in print and online (from 2010).
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to governmental and private statistical data.
- SourceOECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development)
- This link opens in a new window
Includes many reports, some with a global focus and on others about specific countries.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also available in print in the library. Search the UW-Only Catalog to determine where the year that you need is located.
- UN DataInternational statistics on book production, cell phone subscribers, cinema attendance, radio and television receivers, etc. Data is available for more than 60 countries worldwide.
- UNESCO Institute for StatisticsIncludes access to UNESCO's annual Statistical Yearbooks.
- World Internet Project"A major, international, collaborative project looking at the social, political and economic impact of the Internet and other new technologies." Click on "Published" to see internet usage reports for member countries.
- World Telecommunication/ICT Indicators Database
- This link opens in a new window
Online version requires Internet Explorer.
Country Info
- CIA World FactbookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
- Country BriefingsProvided by Economist.com. Country Briefings Up to date news stories, a political map of the country, economic statistics and forecasts. For more country information provided by the Economist, see EIU Online.
- Europa World Plus
- This link opens in a new window
Political, social and economic information about countries. Includes country maps and a directory of political and business organizations in each country. - FITA Country ProfilesCountry profiles and links to additional resources provided by the Federation of International Trade Associations (FITA).
- Countries and Territories (Freedom House)Freedom House rates 210 countries and territories in Freedom in the World, and 65 countries in Freedom on the Net.
- Library of Congress Country StudiesThe Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
- U.S. Department of State Background NotesFacts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
- U.S. Department of State Country InformationLinks to information about countries around the world from the U.S. Department of State.
- UN Human Development ReportsPublished by the United Nations Development Program. Read, global, regional, and national reports about human development - economic, social, political, and cultural.