Skip to Main Content
Campus Library Logo

BNURS 525: Healthcare Systems Leadership for Advanced Roles (Anderson): Library Workshop: Week 5

Oct. 28 Library Workshop

1. Advice for Autumn Quarter 2022:

  • Use our 24/7 chat service for questions. Types of questions could include how to get to the full text of articles, cite in APA format, etc.
  • UWB IT - Laptop and WiFi Hotspot Lending Program
  • You have access to a plethora of immediately available online resources including articles, public web sources, databases, e-videos, e-journals, and e-books.
  • Online Learning Support -- How to Access Library Resources

2. Intro to the New Nursing Students Orientation Guide and handout.

  • 2022-23 Orientation Guide handout in docx and pdf formats
  • Master of Nursing Orientation 2022 PowerPoint (from Sept. 1. 2022) in pdf and pptx formats

3. Today - Julie would like to demonstrate searches from PubMed and CINAHL. Also, we could also demo the leadership database ScienceDirect, and the education databases ERIC and Education Source. See the Finding Articles page for the database links. 

  • Locating the full text of articles
  • Mesh Terms (PubMed),  and CINAHL Subject Headings
  • Interlibrary loan demonstration

4. Relevant Course Assignments (Julie's Summary):

5. How did the library homework assignments go? 

Please let Julie know of any questions/comments about or suggestions for improvements of the library assignments.

The four library learning activities - (homework assignments) are in Canvas

Julie’s goal to have the Panopto video, Interlibrary Loan, CINAHL, and PubMed Canvas learning activities be available to you throughout the program to refer back to for instructions, as needed.

6. Search Strategies for Leadership Models, Styles, and/or Theories (MST)

 I suggest searching in the databases by using these strategies below to search for your clinical area and MSTs. 

(Optional) If you want to search either the name of the MST, or the author of the MST, search with these strategies:

  • The first and last name of the author.  (e.g. Kurt Lewin)
  • The name of the MST.  (e.g. Leader-Member Exchange Theory)
  • The last name of the author and the MST together. (e.g. Uhl-Bien and Complexity Leadership)
  • The last name of the author and the main idea of the MST (Authentic Leadership and genuine)
  • If you need to broaden your search, try searching for the last name of the author and nursing.(e.g. Uhl-Bien and nursing leadership)

7. Nursing Theorists and Theories Search Tips

Stoerm has great lists of theorists linked at the bottom the "Module 3 Reading: Three Types of Theory" page in Canvas.

(Optional) If you want to search for the theory or theorist, search with these strategies:

  • the first and last name of the theorist
  • The name of the theory
  • The last name of the theorist and the theory together
  • The last name of the theorist and the main idea of the theory
  • If you need to broaden your search try searching for the last name of the theorist and nursing, e.g. neuman and nursing.

You can also search in the databases by using the strategies below to search for your clinical or leadership area and nurs* theor*.

Examples:  

  • clinical educator and nurs* theor*
  • nurse administrators and nurs* theor*

8. You can search across CINAHL, MedLine (PubMed), and other databases as the same time.

9. (Optional) Searching CINAHL Subject Headings for Nursing Theories:

  1. In CINAHL, click on the "CINAHL Subject Headings" link above the search boxes, on the dark purple bar.
  2. Type in "nursing models" into the search box, and click on the Browse button.
  3. Click on the "Nursing Models, Theoretical" link. (Theorists list in docx and pdf formats  [from 10/2017].)
  4. Scroll down the page and look for your theorist's last name, with the name of the theory.
  5. Click in the box to the left of your theory, and then click on the Search Database button on the right-hand side of the page. This should generate a list of citations.
  6. Experiment adding to your search both broad and specific search words/phrases about your clinical practice area to see what is available in the theory/theories.
  7. If you want to add limits such as dates and publication types, look on the left-hand side of the page in the "Refine Results" area. Click on the "Show More" link. A new screen should open where you can enter in the limiters that you want, then click on the "Search" button.

10. The Finding Articles Page

  • Includes links to Business, Education and Health databases.
  • See Julie's "Database Searching Notes from 2018" in either pdf or docx formats.

11. The Finding Books Page

  • Includes links to online encyclopedias including encyclopedia databases (Gale Ebooks), leadership (Encyclopedia of Management, from 2019), and education (Encyclopedia of Nursing Education, from 2015).
  • Could be useful in finding background information on your leadership models, styles, and/or theories.

12. The (Optional) Citations Management Software Page

  • We recommend Zotero.

(Optional) Web Searching

Google or Google Scholar search engines. Search for the name of the theory. Google is the largest World Wide Web search engine. The goal of Google Scholar is to limit to scholarly websites. Sources include peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. About Google Scholar

Google Scholar:

To limit to .org, .gov, or .edu domains (instructions online in brief or detailed) in Google: 

  • In the Google search box, enter your search terms, then add  site:.org
    • For example, for Lewin change theory, search Lewin change theory site:.org

Wikipedia. Search for the name of the theory. Wikipedia is a multilingual, web-based, free content encyclopedia project. It is written collaboratively by volunteers from all around the world. Most of the articles can be edited by anyone with access to the Internet, simply by clicking the edit this page link. In every article, links will guide you to associated articles, often with additional information. About Wikipedia.

(Optional) Evaluating Resources Guides

Oct 1, 2021 Handout in both docx and PDF and formats: