|COVID-19 Update: While Libraries buildings are closed and physical collections are unavailable until further notice, e-newspapers are available and staff are working remotely to support you!|
University of Washington users can continue to get access to New York Times content online via the following resources provided by the UW Libraries:
See the UW Libraries Search entry for the New York Times for links to UW Libraries access to the NYT Book Review and the NYT Magazine.
The New York Times announced on March 18, 2011 that it would begin charging for unlimited access to online content on its website and mobile applications beginning March 28, 2011.
Q. Can the Libraries get a Times digital subscription that we can use?
A. No, unfortunately it is too expensive for the UW Libraries to provide access to all UW students, faculty, and staff. Through the NYT Campus Subscription Program @ UW, UW students, faculty, and staff are eligible to receive a 75 percent discount off individual subscriptions to the newspapers that now includes the All Access Program available only to home delivery subscribers.
Q. Does that mean I can't access any of the Times content on their site or on my smartphone or iPad without an individual subscription?
A. The NYT allows users to access up to 5 articles on its website per month with no cost. The Top News section will remain free on smartphone and tablet apps. Beyond that, digital subscriptions are required. Subscribers to the print newspaper get free access via nytimes.com and smartphone and tablet apps. See the Times digital subscription page for details.
Q. Is everything that's available on the nytimes.com site available in the library databases?
A. Factiva, Nexis Uni and ProQuest Global Newsstream provide only the text of NYT news articles published in the original newspaper. NYT photos, videos, and multimedia are not available in these databases; however, you may be able to access them for free through NYT.com. (Photos are included in ProQuest Digitized Newspapers and ProQuest Historical Newspapers databases. Online-only articles from the nytimes.com can be searched in Factiva, though they are not included in the browsable contents.
Q. What about the print newspaper? Do the Libraries still carry that?
A. Yes. Print copies of the New York Times are available every day in the Government Publications, Maps, Microforms & Newspapers (GMM) area on the ground floor of Suzzallo Library, Odegaard Undergraduate Library, UW Bothell Library, and UW Tacoma Library. GMM keeps paper issues for three years.
Q. Is this going to happen with other newspapers? If it does, will I have access to content from those papers, too?
A. Many newspapers now offer limited access to articles on their websites for free. Currently the NYT allows access to five articles per month for free. Access World News, Global Newsstream, and Nexis Uni carry many other major (and not so major) newspapers. The Press Reader database, available from the UW Libraries, offers the Washington Post, the Los Angeles Times, the Chicago Tribune, and many other papers from around the world in full color, exactly as they appear in print, on the same day they are published. The Access World News database provides full color, same day electronic access to the stories published in the newspaper and website editions of the Seattle Times, Bellingham Herald, Olympian, Tacoma News Tribune, Oregonian, and San Francisco Chronicle, as well as text of news stories published in newspapers around the world.