Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- News
- New York Times access through ProQuest
News: New York Times access through ProQuest
Online Access to the New York Times
If you're conducting research about a particular topic or event, it can be helpful to compare coverage between two or more newspapers. This is more easily done searching the library's aggregated news database. The databases below allow you to search for a topic/event in The New York Times and other major newspapers published around the World.
- US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Washington State, national & regional newspapers, 1980 - present - Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current international, national & regional newspapers, 1980 - present. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital historical newspaper coverage from 1880s to 2000s. Includes Atlanta Constitution, Baltimore Afro-American, Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chinese Newspapers Collection, Globe & Mail, The Guardian and The Observer, Hindustan Times, Korea Times, LA Sentinel, LA Times, Le Monde, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, Pittsburgh Courier, South China Morning Post, Spokesman Review, Times of India, Vancouver Sun, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
ProQuest offers direct links to The New York Times print publications. You can search the content within each of these New York Times publications using the ProQuest search interface.
- ProQuest New York Times (Online edition)Full text of articles published on nyt.com from 1996 to present.
- ProQuest New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast)For quick browsing and searching of the New York Times print edition from June 1, 1980 to the present. Includes the full text of today's paper.
- ProQuest New York Times (International Edition)For quick browsing and searching of the New York Times print edition from June 1, 1992 to the present.
- ProQuest Recent Newspapers: The New York TimesThe full-page images of the New York Times print edition, searchable from 2008 to 3 months ago.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York TimesFor scanned, fully searchable page and article images of The New York Times from 1851 to 2018.
See the UW Libraries Search entry for The New York Times for links to UW Libraries access to the NYT Book Review and the NYT Magazine.