Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- News
- Media Directories & Systems
News: Media Directories & Systems
Overviews of Media Systems by Country
- Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
This link opens in a new window
- The International Encyclopedia of Communication
- This link opens in a new window
- World Press Encyclopedia : a survey of press systems worldwide
- This link opens in a new window
Freedom House monitors many threats around the world. They rate each country's Internet freedom and democracy scores. Freedom House has monitored media independence through published reports since 1980: Archives 2002-2017 and current media freedom rankings.
Media Directories: Media 1985 to present
Media directories serve as telephone books for the media industry. Many directories list the names and contact information of radio and television companies and magazines and newspapers published in a particular country. Some include advertising rates circulation statistics when available.
- onlinenewspapers.com (web)Directory of world newspapers
- ABYZ News Links (web)Directory of world newspaper, radio, and television organized by country.
- Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Directory of serials including magazines, journals, and newspapers.
- Benn's MediaPrint directory of media around the world. Kept in Suzzallo Reference.
- Editor & Publisher International Data Book (also called Editor & Publisher Newspaper DataBook)This two volume set is a directory for newspapers published around the world. The U.S. volume includes community and ethnic newspapers, their contact info, and circulation statistics.
- Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media (2018 most recent edition)
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly Ayer Directory of Publications. "covers approximately 59,000 newspapers, magazines, journals, and other periodicals, as well as radio, television, and cable stations and systems. GDPBM covers the whole media picture -- ad rates, circulation statistics, local programming, names of key personnel, and other useful, accurate information." - Willing's Press Guide"Quick and easy reference guide to newspapers, news agencies, radio and television stations plus UK and Ireland business and consumer titles."
- World Radio TV HandbookDirectory of national and international radio stations; TV section lists the main terrestrial national broadcasters, large regional networks, and some local stations.
Media Directories: Media before 1985
- Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media Formerly Ayer Directory of Publications. "covers approximately 59,000 newspapers, magazines, journals, and other periodicals, as well as radio, television, and cable stations and systems. GDPBM covers the whole media picture -- ad rates, circulation statistics, local programming, names of key personnel, and other useful, accurate information."
- This link opens in a new window
- Willing's Press Guide "Quick and easy reference guide to newspapers, news agencies, radio and television stations plus UK and Ireland business and consumer titles."