BHS 501: Social Justice and Ethics (Iyer): Library Workshop: Week 3

1. Advice for Autumn Quarter 2024:

• Use our 24/7 chat service for questions. Types of questions could include how to get to the full text of articles, cite in APA format, etc.
• UWB IT - Laptop and WiFi Hotspot Lending Program
• You have access to a plethora of immediately available online resources including articles, public web sources, databases, e-videos, e-journals, and e-books.
• Online Learning Support -- How to Access Library Resources
  • For Students page
• Campus Amenities -- List of services and resources available on the UWB & CC campuses.

2. Intro to the New Health Studies & Nursing Students Orientation Guide and handout.

• MS Community Health & Social Justice Orientation 2024 PowerPoint (from Sept. 12) in pdf and pptx formats
• 2024-25 Orientation Guide handout in docx and pdf formats

3. Today - Julie would like to demonstrate searches from PubMed and all EbscoHost databases. See the Finding Articles page for the database links. 

• Locating the full text of articles
• PubMed Searching & Mesh Terms
• EbscoHost databases search
• Interlibrary loan demonstration

4. Library Learning Activities: 

Please let Julie know of any questions/comments about or suggestions for improvements of the library assignments.

The two library learning activities - (homework assignments) are in Canvas: 

• Library Activity 1: Interlibrary Loan Account Setup assignment. 
  • Any questions about the UW Libraries Interlibrary Loan services?
• Library Activity 2: PubMed Searching Learning Activity 

Julie’s goal to have the Interlibrary Loan and PubMed Canvas learning activities be available to you throughout the program to refer back to for instructions, as needed.

5.  Searching in PubMed. What questions do you have about PubMed? 

Questions/comments about the PubMed Quiz in Canvas, titled "Library Activity 2: PubMed Searching Learning Activity"? What questions do you have about PubMed?

• PubMed - Publicly accessible, but some full text is UW restricted. Search for medicine and health article citations. The National Library of Medicine's search service to over 37 million citations in Medline and related databases. (UW Health Sciences Library How-to Guide.) (PubMed Tutorials and Quick Tours.) (MeSH On Demand tool.)
• (Optional) Julie will search for covid 19 anxiety prevention program evaluation (or something else) and discuss as a large group the search results.

Optional PubMed Filters and Search Strategies:

• Filter by Article Types: After you have completed a search, you can filter by a variety of article types including the sample below, and then and click on the "Show" button. (Ask your professor which article types are acceptable to use.)
  • Quantitative article types:  Clinical Trial, Controlled Clinical Trial, Multicenter Study, Pragmatic Clinical Trial, Randomized Controlled Trial, and Validation Study
  • Review article types:  Meta-Analysis, Review, and Systematic Review
• If needed, you type the word qualitative or quantitative in your search. (Optional UW HSL guide for "Finding Qualitative Research Articles")
  • native americans diabetes qualitative
  • aged female chronic pain quantitative
• Search for qualitative articles with MeSH Terms, by adding them to your search words. (List online.)
  • "Qualitative Research"
  • "Interviews as Topic"
  • "Focus Groups"

6. You can search across EbscoHost databases as the same time. Databases include Academic Search Complete (multiple subjects), PsycInfo (psychology), MedLine (the content of PubMed), Global Health, Social Work Abstracts, CINAHL (nursing & allied health), and more.

• Please see the illustrated instructions of how to search across the EbscoHost databases 

Step 1: Scroll to the top of the page in the Academic Search Complete, PsycInfo, or MedLine database.

Step 2: Click on the database name linked above the search boxes.

Step 3: A new window will open titled “Select databases to search,” as illustrated below.

You have a couple of options:

• Search all: Click on the "Select all" option at the top of the page (to select all of the databases), and click on the Select button to search, as illustrated below.
• Select databases by name: Skim the names of the 80+ database titles and select those that look relevant to your search. If you want to select specific databases, depending on the assignment, you could select databases such as: Academic Search Complete (multiple subjects), MEDLINE (the content in PubMed), CINAHL (Nursing &  Health), Business Source Complete, Education Source (education), Global Health, PsycInfo (psychology), and Social Work Abstracts, etc. databases at the same time, and then click on the Select button to search. 

Step 4: Click in the box to the left of the Select all to search all of the databases:

Step 5: Click on the Select button:

Step 6: Type or paste search terms into the search boxes, and click Search. Optional: consider if you want to add any Filters, such as peer reviewed. (Optional Tutorials: How do I Search in Academic Search Complete? How do I Find Full Text in Academic Search Complete?)

7. The Finding Articles Page

• Includes links to Multi-subjects; Education; Health & Nursing; Psychology, Social Services, Social Work, and Sociology; Philosophy & Ethics; and Public & Social Policy databases.

8. The Finding Books Page

• Includes links to online encyclopedias and encyclopedia databases such as Gale Ebooks. Social justice and ethics titles include: the SAGE Encyclopedia of the Sociology of Religion, from 2020, and the Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice, from 2015.
• Could be useful in finding background information on your research topic.

9. The (Optional) Citations Management Software Page

• We recommend Zotero.

Google or Google Scholar search engines. Google is the largest World Wide Web search engine. The goal of Google Scholar is to limit to scholarly websites. Sources include peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. About Google Scholar. 

Google Scholar:

• Connect Google Scholar with UW Libraries (UW Libraries)
• How do I connect Google Scholar with UW Libraries?​ (UW Bothell Campus Library)

To limit to .org, .gov, or .edu domains (instructions online in brief or detailed) in Google: 

• In the Google search box, enter your search terms, then add  site:.org
  • For example, for change theory, search change theory site:.org

Oct 15, 2024 Handout in both docx and PDF and formats: