Research Guides
News: Home
About the News Collection
The UW Libraries has a large collection of news sources published in the United States and around the world. Current and historic news may be online, in paper, and on microfilm. Most of the print and microfilmed newspapers are held in the Government Publications, Maps, Microforms & Newspapers Collection in Suzzallo Library.
To identify news available through the UW Libraries:
- Use the E-Newspapers page, News by Date, Ethnic Press, and Current Print Newspaper Subscriptions pages.
- Use UW Libraries Search to locate newspapers by title or place of publication. Type in the place AND newspaper.
Example: Seattle AND newspaper - Search our Microforms & Newspapers Collection database to see which newspapers we hold in print and on microfilm.
Extra! Extra! Read Today's News Online
- Puget Sound Business JournalSeattle, WA
Seattle-area business news. Husky OnNet Required for off-campus access - E&E News PublicationsSuite of news sources: Climatewire, Energywire, Greenwire, E&E Daily, and E&E News PM.
- Wall Street JournalNew York, NY
register for direct access to wsj.com - New York TimesNew York, NY
register for direct, full access to nytimes.com
includes U.S., International, Canada, Spanish & Chinese editions - Africa Confidentialnewsletter based in London. Only one user at a time. View license terms.
- EconomistNews, commentary and analysis on international politics, finance, and business.
- Financial TimesLondon, England
register for direct, full access to ft.com - Nikkei AsiaAsian politics, economy, business and international affairs.
Starting Points: Aggregated News Databases
Search many news sources at one time.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Regional, national, and international newspapers, 1980's-present.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowCurrent international, national & regional newspapers, 1980 - present.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowLocal, regional and international newspapers, trade publications, press releases, media transcripts, and news websites. Husky OnNet is required for off-campus access.
Historical Newspaper Collections Online
- Chronicling America This link opens in a new windowNewspaper page images, 1836-1922. Also includes a searchable directory of publication information for U.S. newspapers.
- Historical Newspapers in WashingtonThe State Library offers a variety of newspapers online from Washington’s territorial period (1853-1889) with a searchable index. More historical Washington Newspapers are available through the Chronicling America site at the Library of Congress.
- Historical Oregon Newspapers OnlineThis site provides access to early Oregon newspapers.
- ICON Newspaper Digitization ProjectProvides information for over 25,000 U.S. and international newspapers.
- U.S. Historical NewspapersThis list, maintained by Bowling Green State University, provides links to digital newspapers by state.
- Washington Digital Newspapers at the Washington State LibraryGrowing collection of Washington State newspapers, emphasis before 1923
News Librarian
Jessica Albano
Contact:
jalbano@uw.edu
Government Publications, Maps, Microforms & Newspapers
Suzzallo Library, G070B
Government Publications, Maps, Microforms & Newspapers
Suzzallo Library, G070B
206.685.1637
Subjects: News