Health Studies: Health Statistics

International Statistics

KFF (Kaiser Family Foundation)
Includes health policy research, polling, and journalism information.
World Health Organization: World Health Statistics
Health statistics related to mortality, morbidity, risk factors, health service coverage, and health systems.

ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Index to governmental and private statistical data.
World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database on development data.

National Statistics

National Information Center on Health Services Research & Health Care Technology (NICHSR)
From the National Library of Medicine. This page lists many links to national, state and international data, tools and statistics.
Centers for Disease Control Prevention (CDC)
Contains a wealth of data.
National Center for Health Statistics
From the CDC. Contains Fast Stats A-Z, National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), and the Surveys and Data Collection Systems.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
From the CDC. To search this resource, use the search box in the upper-right hand corner of the MMWR page. Also, you can search for this title in the UW Libraries Search system.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
From the CDC. Yearly telephone survey since 1984.
SMART: BRFSS City and County Data
Data of selected metropolitan and micropolitan statistical areas (MMSAs) from CDC Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
CDC Wonder
Database of public health data that provides reports and numeric data.
National Institutes of Health
Statistical information on health and disease topics: Cancer, Complementary and Alternative Medicine, Deafness and Other Communication Disorders, Dental Health, Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, Drug Abuse, Eye, and Mental Health.
(AHRQ) Effective Health Care Program
Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Includes Data & Analytics, Research, Priority Populations and more. AHRQ is the health services research arm of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Health Statistics
From Medline Plus. A service of the NLM and the NIH.
American Public Health Association
Publishes the American Journal of Public Health. You can search for this title in the UW Libraries Search system and the publication web page.
American FactFinder
From the Dept. of the US Census. Includes the American Community Survey. Includes Age distribution; Sex ratio; Racial/ethnic characteristics; Occupation, income, education; Per capita income; Mean family income; Percentage at poverty level; Percentage receiving public assistance; Unemployment rate; Occupational categories; Percentage of population over 25 completed high school; ant the Percentage completed college age.
FedStats
Federal Government statistics locator. Links to 70+ US Government agencies that produce statistics of interest to the public. Site maintained by Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy. Subjects are listed alphabetically or can be searched individually to find relevant statistics.
It is not always obvious which agency of the government produces statistics, for their responsibilities sometimes overlap.

More Statistics

Health Statistics
This is a great collection of links for international, national, and Washington state statistics and data from the UW Health Sciences Library.

Image from Microsoft Images.

Data & Data Visualization Guide
from the Bothell Campus Library
Data Resources
from the UW Seattle Libraries

Washington State Statistics

Access Washington
Official Washington State government portal web site. This site is searchable.
State of Washington Data Book
Also available in our print reference collection on 1st floor of library Call No: HA 694 A6.
Vital Statistics Data
From the Washington State Department of Health. Has the Health of Washington State and other data reports including vital statistics. Mostly county and some city data.
EpiQMS
Interactive health statistics web site that can produce numbers, rates, graphs, charts, maps, and county profiles using various demographic variables (age, sex, race, etc.) from birth, death, cancer, and population datasets for the state and counties or regions.
King County
Contains a public health data, publications, and reports page . Also see the health services provided by King County government page.
Skagit County
Contains Public Health, Public Health Topics A-Z, and Programs pages.
Snohomish County
Includes SnoStat.
Snohomish Health District
Contains a Health Statistics page.