Research Guides
News: 1700-1850
United States News & Magazines
- African American Newspapers
This link opens in a new window
19th century newspaper page images, 1827 - 1902, including photos and illustrations.
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American magazines of the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries,
- Boston Gazette and the Country JournalLibrary has 1719-1793 at Microfilm A21.
- Early American Newspapers Series II This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of 50+ newspapers dating from 1736-1900 with most covering the period 1820-1860
- Georgia Historic Newspapers19th century newspapers including the Cherokee Phoenix
- Maryland GazetteLibrary has 1745-1813 at Microfilm A12049
- South-Carolina GazetteLibrary has 1732-1775 at Microfilm A800
- Virginia GazetteLibrary has 1736-1780 at Microfilm A157
World News & Magazines
- 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text, 1757-1817 Early newspapers from Great Britain and its colonies, plus several French and Dutch papers. - African Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text African newspapers, 1800 to 1922
- British Periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text British magazines and journals, 17th to early 20th century.
- Chinese Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper page images, 1832-1953. English language newspapers including North China Herald 1850-1941 & Chinese Recorder 1868-1941
- Economist Historical Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of magazine page images, 1843-2012 - Guardian & Observer
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images through 2003. Includes the two British newspapers, Guardian 1821-2003 and Observer 1791-2003.
Library also has the Guardian from 1962 to present on Microfilm A4616.
- Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
19th and 20th century Latin American newspapers. Series 1: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.
- Le patriote françoisLibrary has 1789-1793 at Microfilm A1389; also available online in Gallica
- Police Gazette (London)Library has 1828-1900 at Microfilm A10123. Earlier title: The hue and cry, 1797-1810, also under A10123.
- South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of South Asian Newspapers, featuring India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Languages include English, Bengali, Gujarati, and more. 1864 - 1922.
- Times (of London)
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1785-1985 - Times of India
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1838-2005. Library also has 1861-2003 on Microfilm A5725
- World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical newspapers from around the world.
Newspapers as Primary Sources
17th and 18th and early 19th century newspapers are distinctly different in nature from modern papers. According to Jeremy Black, the "news was still predominately political, the reports derivative, anonymous and impersonal... There was little in-depth analysis; events were the focus of attention and the background was rarely described adequately. Most items were short, without explanation or introduction."*
Help: Analyzing Newspapers, Analyzing a Colonial Newspaper
* Griffiths, Dennis, ed., The Encyclopedia of the British Press 1422-1992. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1992.
Help finding newspapers in the UW Libraries
- Search our Microforms & Newspapers Collection database to see which newspapers we hold in print and on microfilm.
- Use UW Libraries Search to locate newspapers (online or on microform) by title or place of publication. Type in the place AND newspaper. For example: Seattle AND newspaper. On the results screen choose the Resource Type "Journals" from the left toolbar.
- Use the databases on this page for news stories published about your topic.
Indexes
- Oregon spectator index, 1846-1854Newspaper available at Microfilm A3
- American Revolution in ContextIndexes the Boston Gazette, 1761-1776. Guide and microfilm at A7524
- Antebellum Black NewspapersNew York Freedom's journal (1827-1829), The Rights of all (1829), The Weekly advocate (1837), and The Colored American (1837-1841)
- Index of references to American women in colonial newspapers through 1800Includes references from the New Hampshire Gazette from 1756-1785 (incomplete).
Library has New Hampshire Gazette 1790-1800 on Microfilm A1583 and 1756-1820 on Microcard. - Virginia GazetteIndex shelved with the Microfilm Guides at A157