Research Guides
News: 1851-1899
Washington State News
- Chronicling America: WashingtonNewspaper page images, 1836-1922. Small collection of 19th and 20th century Washington State newspapers including Cayton's Weekly (1917-1921) and the Tacoma Times (1903-1918)
- Washington Digital NewspapersHistoric newspapers published in Washington State.
- Pacific Northwest Regional Newspaper & Periodical Index This link opens in a new windowCitations from newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets, etc. dealing with all aspects of life in Seattle, Washington state & the Pacific Northwest.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Collection
This link opens in a new window
Includes the Spokesman Review (1894-2009) and other historical newspapers from Spokane, WA. - Seattle Post IntelligencerLibrary has 1876-2009 at Microfilm A329.
- Tacoma Daily News 1869-1898Library has 1883 to present at Microfilm A3952
- Seattle Post-Intelligencer
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper page images for Dec 1901-2009 and text only for 2010-2022.
April 1882-1900 included in Chronicling America.
For 1876 to 1882 use microfilm A329 held in the microforms & newspapers collection.
Pacific Northwest News
- Chronicling America: OregonSmall collection of late 19th and early 20th century Oregon newspapers including the Evening Herald (1908-1922) and the Daily Astorian (1876-1890)
- Idaho Stateman 1864-1900
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized version of the newspaper; part of Early American Newspapers database - Oregonian
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, Feb 1860-1987. Included within the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection. For issues published after 1987, use Access World News.
United States News & Magazines
- African American Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
19th century newspaper page images, 1827 - 1902, including photos and illustrations.
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American magazines of the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries,
- Atlanta ConstitutionSearchable database of newspaper page images, 1868-1984. For issues published after 1984, use Access World News or LexisNexis Academic.
- Baltimore Afro American
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1893-1988 - Chicago TribuneLibrary has 1849 to present at Microfilm A483
- Chronicling America This link opens in a new windowNewspaper page images, 1836-1922. Also includes a searchable directory of publication information for U.S. newspapers.
- Early American Newspapers Series II This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper page images, 1820-1860 Included within the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection.
- Georgia Historic Newspapers19th century newspapers including the Cherokee Phoenix
- Los Angeles Star 1851-1864Early Los Angeles paper also known as La Estrella de Los Angeles
- Los Angeles Times
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1881-1994. For coverage from 1995 to the present, use LexisNexis. - New York Times
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1851-2014. For 1990s to present, use NexisUni or ProQuest GlobalNewsstream. - San Francisco ChronicleLibrary has 1865 to present at Microfilm A3431
- Wall Street Journal
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1889-2000. For more recent coverage, use ProQuest Newsstand (1982-present). - Washington PostLibrary has 1877 to present at Microfilm A879
World News & Magazines
- African Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text African newspapers, 1800 to 1922
- British Periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text British magazines and journals, 17th to early 20th century.
- Chinese Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper page images, 1832-1953. English language newspapers including North China Herald 1850-1941 & Chinese Recorder 1868-1941
- Economist Historical Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of magazine page images, 1843-2012 - Guardian & Observer
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images through 2003. Includes the two British newspapers, Guardian 1821-2003 and Observer 1791-2003.
Library also has the Guardian from 1962 to present on Microfilm A4616. - Irish TimesLibrary has 1874-1922 on Microfilm A6161
- Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
19th and 20th century Latin American newspapers. Series 1: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere. - South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of South Asian Newspapers, featuring India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Languages include English, Bengali, Gujarati, and more. 1864 - 1922.
- Times (of London)
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1785-1985 - Times of India
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1838-2005. Library also has 1861-2003 on Microfilm A5725
- World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical newspapers from around the world.
Newspapers as Primary Sources
Technology and war transformed the news during the late 19th century. According to Anthony R. Fellow, "Wartime reporting introduced the development of the "special correspondent" and widespread journalistic use of the telegraph to speed news transmission." Fellow describes how the Civil War impacted the nation's press in several ways: newspapers became "big business," Sunday and extra editions were introduced, news agencies including the Associated Press were developed, the newspaper syndicate was developed, and the concise "inverted pyramind" reporting style emerged.
Postwar newspapers began to resemble modern papers, becoming more impartial in order to hold government and business accountable. Fellow explains that "newspapers became more interested in investiative reporting, rooting out corruption in city politics and industry."*
Help: Analyzing Newspapers
*Fellow, A. R. (2009). History of journalism: 1861-1930. In C. H. Sterling (Ed.), Encyclopedia of journalism (Vol. 2, pp. 701-707).
Help finding newspapers in the UW Libraries
- Search our Microforms & Newspapers Collection database to see which newspapers we hold in print and on microfilm.
- Use UW Libraries Search to locate newspapers (online or on microform) by title or place of publication. Type in the place AND newspaper. For example: Seattle AND newspaper. On the results screen choose the Resource Type "Journals" from the left toolbar.
- Use the databases on this page for news stories published about your topic.
Indexes
- Chinese and Japanese in the Seattle Post-Intelligencer 1890-1899A chronology of articles from the period January 1, 1890 to December 31, 1899.
- Spokesman Review Index1887-1920 index on Microfilm A696. Spokesman Review (1894-present) on Microfilm A696.
- Subject index of early Idaho newspapersContains 30,000 annotated entries selected from Idaho newspapers in territorial and early US statehood eras. Also selected Pacific Northwest and California news articles about Idaho.
- Oregon spectator index, 1846-1854Newspaper available at Microfilm A3
- Women of Juneau. 1887-1893Indexes articles printed in the Alaska Free Press and the Juneau City Mining Record concerning the history of women in Juneau.
- American Revolution in ContextIndexes the Boston Gazette, 1761-1776. Guide and Microfilm at A7524
- Antebellum Black NewspapersNew York Freedom's journal (1827-1829), The Rights of all (1829), The Weekly advocate (1837), and The Colored American (1837-1841)
- Index of references to American women in colonial newspapers through 1800Includes references from the New Hampshire Gazette from 1756-1785 (incomplete).
Library has New Hampshire Gazette 1790-1800 on Microfilm A1583 and 1756-1820 on Microcard. - The New York Times theater reviewsNew York Times available online through the New York Times 1851-2007 database and on Microfilm A195
- Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American magazine articles published between 1890 and 1982.
- Virginia GazetteIndex shelved with the Microfilm Guides at A157