Research Guides
News: 1900-1929
Washington State News
- Chronicling America: WashingtonNewspaper page images, 1836-1922. Small collection of 19th and 20th century Washington State newspapers including Cayton's Weekly (1917-1921) and the Tacoma Times (1903-1918)
- Documenting White Supremacy It brings together for the first time local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the U.S. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by American Black, Catholic, and Jewish communities.
- News Tribune (Tacoma)1889 to current
Also available on microfilm A3953 held in the microforms & newspapers collection. - Nikkei Newspaper Digital ArchiveIncludes North American Times (1902-1942) and North American Post (1946-1950), published primarily in Japanese with occasional, and then regularly appearing, pages published in English.
- Pacific Northwest Regional Newspaper & Periodical Index This link opens in a new windowCitations from newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets, etc. dealing with all aspects of life in Seattle, Washington state & the Pacific Northwest.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Collection
This link opens in a new window
Includes the Spokesman Review (1894-2009) and other historical newspapers from Spokane, WA. - Seattle Post-Intelligencer
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper page images for Dec 1901-2009 and text only for 2010-2022.
April 1882-1900 included in Chronicling America.
For 1876 to 1882 use microfilm A329 held in the microforms & newspapers collection. - Seattle TimesNewspaper page images for Dec 1895-1984 and 2018 to current. Text only for 1985-2017.
1895-1984 also included within the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection.
For 1886 to current on microfilm A419 held in the microforms & newspapers collection.
Pacific Northwest News
- Chronicling America: OregonSmall collection of late 19th and early 20th century Oregon newspapers including the Evening Herald (1908-1922) and the Daily Astorian (1876-1890)
- Idaho Statesman 1864-1900
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized version of the newspaper; part of Early American Newspapers database. - OregonianFeb 1861 to current
United States News
- African American Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
19th century newspaper page images, 1827 - 1902, including photos and illustrations.
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American magazines of the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries,
- Atlanta Constitution 1868-1984
- This link opens in a new window
For 1995 to current, use Access World News or Factiva or US Newsstream.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - Boston Globe 1872-1993
- This link opens in a new window
- Chicago Defender 1909-2010
- This link opens in a new window
For 1975 to 1996, use Microfilm A4066. For 1999 to present, use Ethnic NewsWatch or for February 2008 to current, use Access World News.
- Chronicling America This link opens in a new windowNewspaper page images, 1836-1922 Search and view U.S. newspapers. Also includes a searchable directory of publication information for U.S. newspapers.
- Documenting White Supremacy It brings together for the first time local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the U.S. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by American Black, Catholic, and Jewish communities.
- Los Angeles Times 1881-2015
- This link opens in a new window
For 2016 to current, use Factiva or US Newsstream.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options...
- News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (feat. Newsweek) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newsweek (1933-2012) and 14 other magazines covering events, international relations, and public policy from 1918 to 2015.
- New York Amsterdam News 1922-2010For 1994 to current, use Ethnic NewsWatch or US Newsstream
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - New York Times 1851-2020
- This link opens in a new window
For 2014 to current, use Factiva or ProQuest Recent Newspapers: New York Times or US Newsstream.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - Pittsburgh Courier 1911-2010
- This link opens in a new window
From 2003 to current, use Access World News or Ethnic Newswatch.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - San Francisco ChronicleLibrary has 1865 to present at Microfilm A3431
- Wall Street Journal 1889-2012
- This link opens in a new window
- Washington Post 1877-2007
- This link opens in a new window
World News & Magazines
- British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of 18th, 19th and some early 20th century British magazines - Chinese Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper page images, 1832-1953. English language newspapers including North China Herald 1850-1941 & Chinese Recorder 1868-1941
- Economist Historical ArchiveSearchable database of magazine page images, 1843-2012
- Globe & Mail 1844-2014 (Toronto)For 2015 to current, use Factiva or Global Newsstream.
- Guardian 1821-2003 (Manchester, England) & Observer 1791-2003 (London, England)For 2004 to current, use Access World News or Factiva or ProQuest Global Newsstream.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - Irish TimesLibrary has 1874-1922 on Microfilm A6161
- Japan Times Archives 1897-2017English-language newspaper.
For current year, use Access World News. - Times (of London) 1785-2012For 2013 to current, use Access World News or Factiva or Global Newsstream.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - Times of India 1838-2008English language newspaper
For 2009 to current, use Access World News
See UW Libraries Search for additional options...
Newspapers as Primary Sources
Newspapers and news magazines were extremely influential during this time period, playing roles in local and national political and social issues. Anthony Fellow explains: "New York had no fewer than 15 dailies and more than twice as many weeklies, but even a town as small as Emporia, Kansas, had two dailies." In the 1920s, Time magazine and radio emerged as major news sources.
In 1920, N. W. Ayer & Son's American Newspaper Annual and Directory: A Catalogue of American Newspapers, 1920, volume 2 shows that Seattle had 9 dailies, 20 weeklies, and 32 monthly/semi-montly newspapers.
Help: Analyzing Newspapers
*Fellow, A. R. (2009). History of journalism: 1861-1930. In C. H. Sterling (Ed.), Encyclopedia of journalism (Vol. 2, pp. 701-707).
Help finding newspapers in the UW Libraries
- Search our Microforms & Newspapers Collection database to see which newspapers we hold in print and on microfilm.
- Use UW Libraries Search to locate newspapers (online or on microform) by title or place of publication. Type in the place AND newspaper. For example: Seattle AND newspaper. On the results screen choose the Resource Type "Journals" from the left toolbar.
- Use the databases on this page for news stories published about your topic.