Research Guides
News: 1930-1959
Washington State News
- News Tribune (Tacoma)1889 to current
Also available on microfilm A3953 held in the microforms & newspapers collection. - Nikkei Newspaper Digital ArchiveIncludes North American Times (1902-1942) and North American Post (1946-1950), published primarily in Japanese with occasional, and then regularly appearing, pages published in English.
- Pacific Northwest Regional Newspaper & Periodical Index This link opens in a new windowCitations from newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets, etc. dealing with all aspects of life in Seattle, Washington state & the Pacific Northwest.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Collection
This link opens in a new window
Includes the Spokesman Review (1894-2009) and other historical newspapers from Spokane, WA. - Seattle Post-Intelligencer
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper page images for Dec 1901-2009 and text only for 2010-2022.
April 1882-1900 included in Chronicling America.
For 1876 to 1882 use microfilm A329 held in the microforms & newspapers collection. - Seattle TimesNewspaper page images for Dec 1895-1984 and 2018 to current. Text only for 1985-2017.
1895-1984 also included within the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection.
For 1886 to current on microfilm A419 held in the microforms & newspapers collection.
United States News
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people, covering 1959-present.
- Google News ArchiveWith extremely spotty coverage stretching back in time to at least 1736 and springing forward to 2009, the archive is a great last resort. Google abandoned the project in 2011 (for reasons unknown), but the site is still available for your use for now.
- Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper page images, 1942-1945 This collection of 25 camp newspapers includes Rohwer Outpost, Poston Chronicle, Gila News Courier, Tulean Dispatch, Granada Pioneer, Minndoka Irrigator, Topaz Times, Manzanar Free Press, Denson Tribune, and Heart Mountain Sentinel. Most of the papers are in English or in dual text.
- Los Angeles Times 1881-1994For 1995 to current, use Factiva or Nexis Uni or US Newsstream.
For the most current 60 days use Library Press Reader.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options...
- News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (feat. Newsweek) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newsweek (1933-2012) and 14 other magazines covering events, international relations, and public policy from 1918 to 2015.
- New York Amsterdam News 1922-1993For 1994 to current, use Ethnic NewsWatch or US Newsstream
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - New York Times1851-2014
For 2014 to current, use Factiva or Nexis Uni or ProQuest Digitized Newspapers Recent or US Newsstream.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - OregonianFeb 1861 to current
- Pittsburgh Courier 1911-2002From 2003 to current, use Access World News or Ethnic Newswatch.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - Washington Post 1877-2007
- This link opens in a new window
World News & Magazines
- British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of 18th, 19th and some early 20th century British magazines - Chinese Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1832-1953
English language newspapers including North China Herald 1850-1941 and Chinese Recorder 1868-1941.
- Economist Historical ArchiveSearchable database of magazine page images, 1843-2012
- Globe & Mail 1844-2014 (Toronto)For 2015 to current, use Factiva or Global Newsstream.
- Guardian 1821-2003 (Manchester, England) & Observer 1791-2003 (London, England)For 2004 to current, use Access World News or Factiva or Nexis Uni or ProQuest Global Newsstream
For the most current 60 days use Library Press Reader.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - Times (of London) 1785-2012For 2013 to current, use Access World News or Factiva or Nexis Uni, or Global Newsstream.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - Times of India 1838-2008English language newspaper
For 2009 to current, use Access World News
For the most current 60 days use Library Press Reader.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options...
Newspapers as Primary Sources
Newspapers were the primary means of communcating news during this time period; however, the Depression impacted the industry. Patricia Dooley explains that in "early 1931, the owners of the New york World were forced by hard times to sell the paper for a mere $5 million to the Scripps-Howard chain." In response to the economic conditions, a group of reporters and editors established the American Newspaper Guild in 1933. Dooley writes that the Guild was "the first successful attempt to organize the nontechnical side of newspaper production." The Guild was controversial at first, but it still exists today as The Newspaper Guild.
Help: Analyzing Newspapers
*Dooley, P. (2009). History of journalism: 1930-1995. In C. H. Sterling (Ed.), Encyclopedia of journalism (Vol. 2, pp. 707-712).
Help finding newspapers in the UW Libraries
- Search our Microforms & Newspapers Collection database to see which newspapers we hold in print and on microfilm.
- Use UW Libraries Search to locate newspapers (online or on microform) by title or place of publication. Type in the place AND newspaper. For example: Seattle AND newspaper. On the results screen choose the Resource Type "Journals" from the left toolbar.
- Use the databases on this page for news stories published about your topic.