Research Guides
News: 1960-1984
Washington State News
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people, covering 1959-present. - Newsbank Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1970-1991
Selected news coverage of issues and events in American history.
- News Tribune (Tacoma)
- This link opens in a new window
1889 to current
Also available on microfilm A3953 held in the microforms & newspapers collection. - Northwest Asian Weekly1983-2023
- Pacific Northwest Regional Newspaper & Periodical Index This link opens in a new window1850s-2000s. Some online
Citations from newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets, etc. dealing with all aspects of life in Seattle, Washington State, and the Pacific Northwest. For topics available in the online index, see this list. For the complete index, visit Special Collections.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Spokesman Review (1894-2009) and other historical newspapers from Spokane, WA. - Seattle Post-Intelligencer
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper page images for Dec 1901-2009 and text only for 2010-2022.
April 1882-1900 included in Chronicling America.
For 1876 to 1882 use microfilm A329 held in the microforms & newspapers collection. - Seattle Times
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper page images for Dec 1895-1984 and 2018 to current. Text only for 1985-2017.
1895-1984 also included within the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection.
For 1886 to current on microfilm A419 held in the microforms & newspapers collection.
United States News
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
- Boston Globe 1872-1993
- This link opens in a new window
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people, covering 1959-present.
- Google News ArchiveWith extremely spotty coverage stretching back in time to at least 1736 and springing forward to 2009, the archive is a great last resort. Google abandoned the project in 2011 (for reasons unknown), but the site is still available for your use for now.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new windowUS alternative press publications dating mostly from the 1960s-1990s; includes ethnic, feminist, underground, antiwar, etc.
- Los Angeles Times 1881-1994For 1995 to current, use Factiva or Nexis Uni or US Newsstream.
For the most current 60 days use Library Press Reader.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options...
- Newsbank Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1970-1991
Selected news coverage of issues and events in American history.
- New York Amsterdam News 1922-2010For 1994 to current, use Ethnic NewsWatch or US Newsstream
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - New York Times1851-2014
For 2014 to current, use Factiva or Nexis Uni or ProQuest Digitized Newspapers Recent or US Newsstream.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options...
- News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (feat. Newsweek) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newsweek (1933-2012) and 14 other magazines covering events, international relations, and public policy from 1918 to 2015.
- OregonianFeb 1861 to current
- Pittsburgh Courier 1911-2002From 2003 to current, use Access World News or Ethnic Newswatch.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - Washington Post 1877-2007
- This link opens in a new window
World News & Magazines
- Economist Historical ArchiveSearchable database of magazine page images, 1843-2012
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1975-1996
Index to FBIS Daily Reports summarizing foreign news broadcasts grouped by world region.
Learn more about FBIS.
- Globe & Mail 1844-2014 (Toronto)For 2015 to current, use Factiva or Global Newsstream.
- Guardian 1821-2003 (Manchester, England) & Observer 1791-2003 (London, England)For 2004 to current, use Access World News or Factiva or Nexis Uni or ProQuest Global Newsstream
For the most current 60 days use Library Press Reader.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - Times (of London) 1785-2012For 2013 to current, use Access World News or Factiva or Nexis Uni, or Global Newsstream.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - Times of India 1838-2008English language newspaper
For 2009 to current, use Access World News
For the most current 60 days use Library Press Reader.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options...
Newspapers as Primary Sources
Photo Credit: Walter Cronkite on television during 1st presidential debate between Ford and Carter, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Library of Congress.
Television news became the most popular source of news during this period. TV news, dominated by ABC, NBC, and CBS and their popular news anchors (Edward R. Murrow, Walter Cronkite, Chet Huntley, David Brinkley, and Douglas Edwards) broadcast powerful images from across the country, including those of the Civil Rights movement. The popular CBS news magazine, 60 Minutes, debuted in 1968.
U.S. news found an international audience as Patricia Dooley explains: "The 1970s saw a rise in the impact of televised international news coverage. In August 1970, coverage of thousands of women marching in U.S. cities to dramatize feminist concerns found its way to Europe....In 1977s, CBS anchor Walter Cronkite used satellite technology to conduct intervies with Egypt's President, Anwar Sadat, and the Israeli Prime Minister, Menachem Begin." CNN became the first 24/7 news channel in 1980.
With the rise of TV news, newspaper readership declined. Dooley explains that "By the 1980s, newspaper owners were forced to adapt not only to the popularity of television ews but also to competition from within the newspaper industry itself. Al Neuharth's 1982 launch of the controversial USA Today, with its color, graphics, and innovative layouts and headlines, chook the field."
Help: Analyzing Newspapers
*Dooley, P. (2009). History of journalism: 1930-1995. In C. H. Sterling (Ed.), Encyclopedia of journalism (Vol. 2, pp. 707-712).
Help finding newspapers in the UW Libraries
- Search our Microforms & Newspapers Collection database to see which newspapers we hold in print and on microfilm.
- Use UW Libraries Search to locate newspapers (online or on microform) by title or place of publication. Type in the place AND newspaper. For example: Seattle AND newspaper. On the results screen choose the Resource Type "Journals" from the left toolbar.
- Use the databases on this page for news stories published about your topic.