Research Guides
News: 1985-2005
Washington State News
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Regional, national, and international newspapers, 1980's-present. - Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people, covering 1959-present. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Local, regional and international newspapers, trade publications, press releases, media transcripts, and news websites. Husky OnNet is required for off-campus access. - Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text, 1990s-present. Newspapers, television and radio broadcast transcripts.
- News Tribune (Tacoma)1889 to current
Also available on microfilm A3953 held in the microforms & newspapers collection. - Northwest Asian Weekly1983-2023
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Spokesman Review (1894-2009) and other historical newspapers from Spokane, WA. - Seattle Post-Intelligencer
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper page images for Dec 1901-2009 and text only for 2010-2022.
April 1882-1900 included in Chronicling America.
For 1876 to 1882 use microfilm A329 held in the microforms & newspapers collection. - Seattle TimesNewspaper page images for Dec 1895-1984 and 2018 to current. Text only for 1985-2017.
1895-1984 also included within the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection.
For 1886 to current on microfilm A419 held in the microforms & newspapers collection.
- US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Washington State, national & regional newspapers, 1980 - present
United States News
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national, and international newspapers, 1980's-present. - Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
- Baltimore Afro American 1893-2010
- This link opens in a new window
- Black Life in America Series III This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The experience and impact of African Americans, as recorded by the news media from 1976 to today.
- Boston Globe 1872-1993
- This link opens in a new window
- E&E News Publications This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Suite of daily news publications: Climatewire, Energywire, Greenwire, E&E Daily, and E&E News PM. Use the Search function to find articles dating back to 1996. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people, covering 1959-present. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Local, regional and international newspapers, trade publications, press releases, media transcripts, and news websites. Husky OnNet is required for off-campus access.
- Google News ArchiveWith extremely spotty coverage stretching back in time to at least 1736 and springing forward to 2009, the archive is a great last resort. Google abandoned the project in 2011 (for reasons unknown), but the site is still available for your use for now.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new window1960s-1990s
US alternative press publications including ethnic, feminist, underground, antiwar, etc.
- Los Angeles Times 1881-2015
- This link opens in a new window
For 2016 to current, use Factiva or US Newsstream.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options...
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text, 1990s-present. Newspapers, television and radio broadcast transcripts.
- New York Amsterdam News 1922-2010For 1994 to current, use Ethnic NewsWatch or US Newsstream
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - New York Times1851-2014
For 2014 to current, use Factiva or ProQuest Digitized Newspapers Recent or US Newsstream.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options...
- News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (feat. Newsweek) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newsweek (1933-2012) and 14 other magazines covering events, international relations, and public policy from 1918 to 2015.
- OregonianFeb 1861 to current
- Pittsburgh Courier 1911-2010
- This link opens in a new window
From 2003 to current, use Access World News or Ethnic Newswatch.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options...
- US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Washington State, national & regional newspapers, 1980 - present
- Wall Street Journal 1889-2012
- This link opens in a new window
- Washington Post 1877-2007
- This link opens in a new window
World News & Magazines
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national, and international newspapers, 1980's-present.
- Africa Confidential
- This link opens in a new window
1996 to current
A newsletter based in London focusing on politics and economics in Africa.
Only one user at a time. View license terms. - Economist Historical ArchiveSearchable database of magazine page images, 1843-2012
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Local, regional and international newspapers, trade publications, press releases, media transcripts, and news websites. Husky OnNet is required for off-campus access. - Foreign Broadcast Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1975-1996
Index to FBIS Daily Reports summarizing foreign news broadcasts grouped by world region.
Learn more about FBIS. - Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current international, national & regional newspapers, 1980 - present.
- Globe & Mail 1844-2014 (Toronto)For 2015 to current, use Factiva or Global Newsstream.
- Guardian 1821-2003 (Manchester, England) & Observer 1791-2003 (London, England)For 2004 to current, use Access World News or Factiva or ProQuest Global Newsstream.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - Japan Times Archives 1897-2017English-language newspaper.
For current year, use Access World News.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text, 1990s-present. Newspapers, television and radio broadcast transcripts.
- Times (of London) 1785-2012For 2013 to current, use Access World News or Factiva or Global Newsstream.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - Times of India 1838-2008English language newspaper
For 2009 to current, use Access World News
See UW Libraries Search for additional options...
Newspapers as Primary Sources
Social, economic, technological, and political changes began to dramatically change journalism in the 1990s. Several events stand out during this time period including the debut of the Fox News Channel (1996); licensing of satellite radio (2001); availabity of the World Wide Web (mid 1990s). Patricia Dooley explains that "The late 1990s saw tremendous growth in online journalism. The National Newspaper Association noted that during 1996, the number of online newspapers nearly doubled; by July 1999, only 2 of the 100 largest dailies did not have online editions." New media technologies allowed anyone to publish and disseminate news, leading to citizen journalism that is expoding around the world today.
Help: Analyzing Newspapers
*Dooley, P. (2009). History of journalism: 1995 to present. In C. H. Sterling (Ed.), Encyclopedia of journalism (Vol. 2, pp. 713-717).
Meyer, P. (2009). The vanishing newspaper: saving journalism in the information age."
Best Bets: News Databases
Search for articles about your topic published in newspapers around the world using these databases:
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1980s to current
Regional, national, and international newspapers, broadcast transcripts, and web news including the News Tribune, Olympian, San Francisco Chronicle, Seattle Times, and Tri-City Herald. - US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1980s to current
Washington State, regional, and national newspapers. - Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1980s to current
Current international, national & regional newspapers including the Atlanta Constitution, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
Help finding newspapers in the UW Libraries
- Search our Microforms & Newspapers Collection database to see which newspapers we hold in print and on microfilm.
- Use UW Libraries Search to locate newspapers (online or on microform) by title or place of publication. Type in the place AND newspaper. For example: Seattle AND newspaper. On the results screen choose the Resource Type "Journals" from the left toolbar.
- Use the databases on this page for news stories published about your topic.
Indexes
- Current Digest of the Soviet Press. Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (1949-2009)
- This link opens in a new window