*Business: Economics

Starting Points for Economics

EconLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles, books, dissertations, working papers and book reviews on economics. 1886-present.
EIU Viewpoint This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reports on politics, economics and market-moving topics including macroeconomic data for nearly 200 countries.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers and journals in all business disciplines.

Europa World Online [UW restricted]
Political and economic information on countries and territories. Includes comparative statistical data for over 250 countries and territories.

International Directory of Company Histories This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Concise histories of over 8,500 companies; the companies may appear in more than one volume

Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History
Wide range of reference information regarding the history of the US economy.
History of World Trade since 1450
Wide range of reference information regarding the history of the global trade.
Historical Encyclopedia of American Business
History of major businesses in America.
Working Americans 1880-2009
Reference information on the history of American labor.

Bureau of Labor & Statistics
Statistical information on employment, unemployment, prices and living conditions. Also has links to historical data.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Analyzes regional, national, and international aspects of U.S. Economy, giving an up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy and its position in the world economy.
Economic Policy Institute
Non-profit, non-partisan think tank which researches a broad range of economic issues affecting low- and moderate-income level workers and their families; publishes State of Working America and other research reports and policy analyses.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Has 41,000 downloadable economic time series from 41 credible sources--data includes daily U.S. interest rates, monetary and business indicators, exchange rates, balance of payments and regional economic data.
WSJ Market Watch
Market information plus an economy and politics area with commentary and projections.
Washington State Office of the Forecast Council
Official website of Washington state government economics office.
WDI Online (World Development Indicators) Database
General current and time series statistical data from World Bank.
Conference Board Business Knowledge Research
Searchable database of full-text research reports on some of the latest issues in business and economics, including U.S. and global economic indicators and analysis and forecasts of regional, national, and international economic conditions.

To find more Econ resources, including data, working papers, and dictionaries, visit the UW Libraries Economics Guide.