Skip to main content
Finding Articles in Scandinavian Studies (Language & Literature)
Selected article databases with international coverage of language and literature.
MLA International Bibliography
Scholarly articles on literature, language, and folklore from international journals, including Nordic and American journals.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly and general interest articles in a range of academic areas of study including ethnic and multicultural studies, women's studies, law, religion, anthropology, music, science, etc.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Search criticism, reviews, and selected primary sources in international literature and review publications. Primarily in English.
Criticism and reviews from a variety of international sources, including Nordic and American literary publications.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Indexes scholarly literature in all areas of linguistics published worldwide.
International Bibliography of Theater & Dance
International scholarly literature on drama and the performing arts.
Finding Articles in Nordic Studies (History & Social Science)
Selected article databases with international coverage of history, political science, sociology, etc.
World history from AD 1450 forward. Provides citations to thousands of articles, books, dissertations on Scandinavian history.
Articles on government, policy, politics, international relations, human rights, education, and more, including coverage of economic, health, and social conditions.
International coverage of sociology and social and behavioral sciences, including culture, ethnicity, family, poverty, social change, economic development, etc.
Once you've found a citation for an item of interest...
a) if the article is published in a book, search for it in UW Libraries Search by the book's title and or editor's surname;
b) if the item is an article, search UW Libraries Search for the title of the journal in which it was published, or submit a request for the full text of the article to the UW Library's Document Delivery Service, and you'll receive the article by e-mail.
Tijdschrift voor Skandinavistiek
A journal dedicated to the research about Scandinavian language, including literary, linguistic, cultural, and historical research. With full-text availability from issue 1 (1980) to issue 33 (2012). Material in a number of languages, including Norwegian, Danish, Swedish, and English.
An open-access journal published by the Institute for Culture and Literature by the University of Trømso. Many journal issues have themes, dealing especially with identity or the Arctic. Full access from issue 1 (1997) to the present. Material in Norwegian and English.
A journal established in 2004, focusing on scholarship about postcolonial Denmark, exploring issues such as the Danish Commonwealth, Danish colonial history, and Danish conceptualizations of migrancy. Materials from issue 6 and following are available free for download. Material in English.
The journal published by the Association for the Advancement of Scandinavian Studies in Canada. With volumes 15 (2005) to the present available free to download. Material in English.
Popular e-journal packages
Full-text searching of hundreds of North American journals in the humanities and social sciences.
A repository of over 9 million digitized books and journals from the collections of dozens of North American university libraries.