Skip to main content
Online Polyglot Dictionaries
Multilingual dictionary for translating between Norwegian and other languages, including English and Sami (Lule, Northern Sami, Southern Sami).
Giellatekno - Dicts
Numerous multilingual dictionaries from the Arctic University of Norway, including Sami languages and other Uralic languages. Content in various languages.
Greenlandic English Dictionary (online)
Schultz Lorentzen’s 1927 Dictionary of the West Greenland Eskimo Language, an English translation of his Den grønlandske ordbog, transcribed into the new and old Greenlandic orthography and available as a Microsoft Excel file
Multilingual dictionary covering modern Icelandic, Danish, Norwegian (Bokmål and Nynorsk), Swedish, Faroese, and Finnish. Continually-updated international collaboration between six Nordic language institutions.
Bilingual dictionaries Oqaatsit (Greenlandic-Danish) and Ordbogen (Danish-Greenlandic), provided by Greenlandic educational publisher Illiniusiorfik.
Sprotin - Online dictionaries
Online multilingual Faroese dictionaries from Faroese publisher Sprotin. Includes Faroese-English and English-Faroese.
Bokmålsordboka / Nynorskordboka
Monolingual dictionaries for Nynorsk and Bokmål featuring entries in Norwegian, with detailed definitions, constructed words, conjugation of verbs and declining of nouns.
Det Norske Akademis Ordbok
Freely available, continuously updated Norwegian Riksmål dictionary, published on behalf of the Norwegian Ministry of Culture. Content in Norwegian.
Institute for the Languages of Finland - Dictionaries
Online offerings include the New Dictionary of Modern Finnish; Dictionary of Finnish Dialects; Dictionary of Old Literary Finnish; Dictionary of Karelian; Dictionary of Swedish Dialects in Finland; and more. Content in Finnish and other languages.
Exhaustive presentation of vocabulary in Norwegian dialects and the Nynorsk written language. Content in Nynorsk Norwegian.
Online dictionaries including Ordbog over det danske Sprog (1700-1950) and Den Danske Ordbog (1950-present), and the text corpus KorpusDK covering texts from 1990-2000.
Stofnun Árna Magnússonar - Orðfræði og orðasöfn
Online dictionaries and wordlists from The Árni Magnússon Institute for Icelandic Studies. Content in Icelandic.
Svenska Akademiens Ordböcker
Online offerings include Svenska Akademiens ordlista, Svensk ordbok, and Svenska Akademiens ordbok. Content in Swedish.