Skip to main content
These bibliographic databases include international coverage of cinema scholarship, film reviews, and other literature about film. Start here for for research queries on Nordic film and cinema.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
Includes the International Index to Film Periodicals, the International Index to Television Periodicals, and the Treasures from the Film Archives.
Film Index International
Index of films, biographical information, film prizes and awards, and article citations, 1900 to present.
MLA International Bibliography
The most comprehensive source for scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes coverage of cinema and drama.
Nordic Film Journals
Including English-language content
A Danish journal of film studies, with film reviews, interviews, and longer scholarly articles. Material in Danish and English.
Journal of Scandinavian Cinema
A journal dedicated to cinema in the Nordic countries. First issue in 2010, material in English.
Started as Filmhäftet in 1973, which is now published as Film International. The website covers film within its broader cultural context and offers essays, blogs, interviews, reviews, and festival reports. Not peer-reviewed, but edited. Material in English.
A digital version of the print journal with the same name (the print version was stopped in 2011). Lots of content about film (including peer-reviewed articles), produced now biannually on the web. Material in Danish and English.
MedieKultur: Journal of Media and Communication Research
A peer-reviewed, open access journal by the Association of media researchers in Denmark. While not focused specifically on cinema, quick searches reveal research on film and TV. Material in English.
No English content
Film & Kino årbok
Annual statistical summaries of Norwegian film, cinema, and video. Content in Norwegian.
Online film magazine including popular articles and reviews. Material in Norwegian.
A peer-reviewed, open-access, Finnish journal specializing in media culture and media theory. Material in Finnish.
National Film Databases
The Nordic countries' film institutes make national film databases available online. These typically include factual data about films, including cast, crew, production, distribution, etc. They may include other features but do not generally provide analysis, scholarship, or film reviews.
National Film Institutes
Danish Film Institute
The Danish Film Institute is the national film foundation in Denmark. It works to promote Danish film and cinema culture. The Institute makes around 50 films a year (feature films, documentaries, and shorts). Use this website to find current information about the Danish film industry, Denmark's auteur filmmakers, and Danish film history. Material in Danish and English.
Icelandic Film Centre
This website is the product of a 2003 law in Iceland, stipulating government involvement in the Icelandic film industry. Material found here is centered on promoting Icelandic film internationally, including recent industry news, films in production, and older Icelandic films. The historical material about the Icelandic film industry comes with a digital (updated) version of Peter Cowie's book on Icelandic film. Definitely the most up-to-date material about Icelandic film. Material in English.
KAVI - National Audiovisual Institute (Finland)
KAVI preserves Finland's films, radio and television programming, and related materials. It also disseminates knowledge about audiovisual culture in Finland and promotes media education and children’s media skills.
Norwegian Film Institute
The website of the Norwegian Film Institute, the national executive body for the Norwegian film industry. In addition to reporting current news about Norwegian films, it offers many .pdfs with statistics, catalogs of Norwegian films, as well as information about the history of Norwegian cinema. Material in Norwegian and English.
Swedish Film Institute
The website of Sweden's Film Institute, which works to promote film production, distribution, and screening of Swedish films. This website provides information about current films, research about film, and a wealth of other information. Material in Swedish and English.
The go-to online resource for information about Ingmar Bergman's life, films, plays, and television productions. Material available in Swedish and English
Nordic Women in Film (Swedish Film Institute)
Project aiming to promote and disseminate the history of female film workers in the Nordic countries. Material in English.
The Finnish Film Foundation
National foundation in Finland supporting the Finnish film industry. Site provides information about current films, attendance statistics, and recent historical information about Finnish films. Some content in English.