Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!
University of Washington Libraries

Library Guides

UW Ethnomusicology Archives: Frederic Lieberman Field Recordings

The UW Eth­no­mu­si­col­ogy Archives has been col­lecting and curating unique ethnographic music recordings, films, and video since 1962.

Frederic Lieberman Collection

 

About Frederic Lieberman

Frederic Lieberman (?-2013) was an ethnomusicologist, teacher, and author from New York, United States. He received his BA in Music from the Eastman School of Music, his MA in Ethnomusicology from the University of Hawaii, and his PhD in Music with a focus in ethnomusicology from UCLA. His research interests included East and South Asian music, organology, and American vernacular musics. He was considered to be an expert on John Cage and the Grateful Dead and worked closely with Grateful Dead drummer Mickey Hart (they are shown together in the video on this page). Throughout his career he taught at Brown University and the University of Washington before joining the faculty of the UC Santa Cruz, where he remained until his retirement. 

Collection overview

World map with India, China, Norway, Finland, Ireland, Mexico, and the United States highlighted

The Frederic Lieberman Collection contains field, concert, and festival recordings created and collected by Lieberman. The collection focuses on the Hindustani music of North India, the fiddle music of the United States, and traditional music of Scandinavian countries. Some of the recordings were created in collaboration with Robert Garfias and overlap with the Garfias collection. 

Text sources: artsites.ucsc.edu, theatlantic.com, sfcv.org

Title image sources (left to right): fortune.com, wordpress.com, twitter.com (bingulibraries), grandforksherald.com, wikipedia.org

UW Libraries | UW Bothell/CC Campus Library | UW Tacoma Library | Health Sciences Library | Gallagher Law Library
Responsible Use of Electronic Resources | Privacy | Terms