Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!
University of Washington Libraries

Library Guides

UW Ethnomusicology Archives: Featured Collections

The UW Eth­no­mu­si­col­ogy Archives has been col­lecting and curating unique ethnographic music recordings, films, and video since 1962.

undefined

About the Archives

The UW Ethnomusicology Archives contains a wide variety of recordings and related material gathered over the past fifty-plus years. From this and related pages, you can browse a selected subset of these collections. You can search for a discover finding aids for most all of our collections on ArchivesWest: http://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/search/results.aspx?t=i&q=wauem As always, if you have questions please contact the curator at vallier@uw.edu

Seattle Sounds Archive and Preservation Project 

SSAPP collects and perserves Seattle area music, both vintage and contemporary. Established in 2006 as Puget Sounds, SSAPP aims to provide researchers with enduring access to recordings that capture a constellation of locally performed traditions and styles: roots, raggae, hip hop, funk, be bop, classical, opera, avant-garde, freak folk, noise, thrash metal, punk, edm, emo, shoegazer, grunge, and more. To learn about SSAPP's 50,000+ recordings, click here or get in touch with us at ethnoarc@uw.edu. 

Robert Garfias Collections 

Professor Robert Garfias is the founder of both the UW Ethnomusicology Archives and Program. The bulk of Robert   Garfias' collections contain field recordings from East Asia, Western and Southern Africa, Southeast Asia, and Central and South America. His 16mm films are especially noteworthy in the field. His collections also contain concert recordings, visiting artist recordings, and 78-rpm records. To browse the collections in Archives West, click here.

Title image sources (left to right): University of London digital collection, dailynews.com, thetimes.co.uk, theculturetrip.com, wikipedia.org

UW Libraries | UW Bothell/CC Campus Library | UW Tacoma Library | Health Sciences Library | Gallagher Law Library
Responsible Use of Electronic Resources | Privacy | Terms