Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!
University of Washington Libraries

Library Guides

UW Ethnomusicology Archives: Welcome

The UW Eth­no­mu­si­col­ogy Archives has been col­lecting and curating unique ethnographic music recordings, films, and video since 1962.

Welcome

UW acknowledges the Coast Salish peoples of this land, the land which touches the shared waters of all tribes and bands within the Suquamish, Tulalip and Muckleshoot nations.

The Eth­no­mu­si­col­ogy Archives has been col­lecting and sharing unique ethnographic recordings since 1962. Our holdings of more than 50,000 items include films and field recordings documenting international, national, and regional musics and related traditions. Click here to search our collections on Archives West. The Archives serve anyone with an interest in our collections: Indigenous community members, students and faculty in the UW Ethnomusicology Program, the broader UW community, film and music producers, fans and scholars from around the world. Questions? Contact ethnoarc@uw.edu

Voices of the First People

Voices of the First People honors the life and work of Vi Hilbert by making accessible audio and video that are part of her collection in the Archives. 

Byron Pope - Seattle Free Jazz

Global Field Recordings

Global Field Recordings  Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus 

Unique field recordings from ethnomusicology archives at UW and UCLA. UW content features recordings made by UW ethnomusicology founder Robert Garfias and includes music and sounds from Bali, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Japan, Korea, Laos, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, Nicaragua, Mexico, Myanmar, the Philippines, Romania, Zimbabwe and beyond. The Adam Matthew product also includes interviews, notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera.

Barton on Light in the Attic

We have partnered with Light in the Attic Records on a double LP release: Kearney Barton Architect of the Northwest Sound.

Record cover for the LP Architect of the Northwest Sound by Kearney Barton

Featured Collection - John Blacking's "How Musical is Man?"

Contact the Curator

UW Libraries | UW Bothell/CC Campus Library | UW Tacoma Library | Health Sciences Library | Gallagher Law Library
Responsible Use of Electronic Resources | Privacy | Terms