China Studies: Classical Texts

Union catalog of the Chinese rare book collections of 27 Chinese and 3 North American academic libraries (including the University of Washington's Tateuchi East Asia Library).

Basic bibliographic metadata on premodern rare book editions held in Chinese libraries. Compiled by the China National Centre for the Preservation and Conservation of Ancient Books 国家古籍保护中心, National Library of China 中国国家图书馆.

Shanghai Library hosted union catalog of pre-1912 editions held by PRC libraries.

National Central Library Union Catalog of Rare Books of premodern Chinese book collections in Taiwan, mainland China, Hong Kong, Macau, Japan, Korea, North America, Europe, and Australia.

Catalog of pre-1912 editions held by the Shanghai Library.

National Database of Chinese Texts. Holdings of Chinese Premodern Texts Union catalog of premodern Chinese texts in Japanese libraries.

The database consists of two invaluable oracle bones collections of 44 pieces from the United College/CUHK Library and another 27 from the Art Museum.

Provides facsimile images of over 7,000 bronze and stone inscriptions from the collection of Taiwan's National Central Library. Part of the NCL's 古籍與特藏文獻資源 [Rare Books and Special Collections Resources] database.

Archive of Han Wei Six Dynasty period stone inscription images based on Professor Mao Yuanming's work.

An online open-access digital library of premodern Chinese texts.

The Chinese University of Hong Kong Library (CUHK Library) collects about 1,100 titles of Chinese rare books and over 6,000 titles of Chinese semi-rare books.

Digital facsimiles of selected premodern rare editions from the collection of the National Taiwan Normal University Library 國立臺灣師範大學圖書館.

Provides digital facsimiles of premodern Chinese text editions from several international collections, including 382 titles (3483 volumes) from the University of Washington. UW Libraries and Taiwan's National Central Library completed digitization of these in 2012. Also provides detailed bibliographic records of additional works, including 286 from UW. Part of the NCL's 古籍與特藏文獻資源 [Rare Books and Special Collections Resources] database.

Provides digital facsimiles of all 4,200 titles (53,000 stitch-bound volumes) of the Harvard-Yenching Library's Chinese Rare Book Collection.

Includes collections of rare books, baojuan, local gazetteers, and epigraphic rubbings in Chinese, and rare books in Manchu, Mongolian, and Naxi, among others.

Collection of digital facsimiles of copyright-free books and other materials, among which are pre-1912 editions of Chinese works, including from UW's own collection. Click "Log In" in top right corner and select University of Washington; in Advanced Catalog Search, choose to filter results by Language. The UW catalog links to some texts, though searching directly in HathiTrust is more reliable. A larger selection of UW's own premodern Chinese editions is found in the Taiwan National Central Library Rare Books Access System.

Digital facsimiles of premodern editions of Chinese fiction and drama works, from the collection of Tokyo University's Institute for Advanced Studies on Asia (formerly translated as Institute of Oriental Culture). To enter the database, click on 檢索·書名一覽 in the center panel.

Provides digital facsimiles of almost four thousand Chinese language rare books held by Tokyo University's Institute for Advanced Studies on Asia (formerly translated as Institute of Oriental Culture).

This database indexes and in many cases provides downloadable digital facsimiles of the medieval texts, images, and artifacts discovered in Dunhuang in the early twentieth century, now housed in institutions worldwide. The database also includes early photographs taken at Dunhuang's Mogao Grottoes and other Silk Road historical sites.

A collection of 3830 chapters of Buddhist, Daoist and medical writings, with full-text search and tools for textual analysis. The medical literature includes manuscripts from Mawangdui 馬王堆, Shuihudi 睡虎地, Wuwei 武威, and Zhoujiatai 周家臺. Created by Michael Stanley-Baker.

The Chinese University of Hong Kong Library maintains a precious collection of more than twenty Daoist texts from the Qing Dynasty.

A database devoted to the study of Buddhist texts and literary corpora in Pāli, Sanskrit, Tibetan, and Chinese, with particular emphasis on evolution of scriptures, formation of canons, and intellectual networks. Includes analytical tools as well as searchable full texts.

Searchable database of the Taishō Buddhist Canon and other supplementary Buddhist text collections. Includes reference tools. Available for online use or desktop download.

Full text of the 85 volumes of the Taishō Buddhist Canon (Taishō Shinshū Daizōkyō 大正新脩大藏經, 1924-1932)

Searchable Mu Yu Shu digital archive. Provided by HKU Fung Ping Shan Library.

In 2014, the Chinese University of Hong Kong Library received the donation of 2,485 scrolls of ancient Chinese Medicine readings, including 61 titles (182 scrolls) of rare books published around the Ming and Qing dynasties and 330 titles (1,049 scrolls) from the Qing dynasty and the Republican period. More than half of the collection has been digitized.

This is a database of writings by women in late imperial China (1368-1912), providing full facsimiles of collections published in the Ming (1368-1644), Qing (1644-1912) and Republican (1912-1949) periods. It can be searched by author, collection title, poetic form, region, time period, etc., in Chinese characters and Pinyin romanization; or browsed through indexes of facets such as ethnic group, marital status, reign period, and genre. It also provides links to writers' entries in the China Biographical Database hosted at Harvard University.

Contains selections of premodern and modern poetry, theory, and criticism.

Database of three sets of "veritable records," contemporaneously compiled reign records. Jointly created by the Academia Sinica of Taiwan and Korea Committee for the Compilation of National History. Access using Husky OnNet.

A collection of texts by and about women writers, drawn from a wide range of writings from Imperial China. Texts are in Chinese, but the online interface is available in both English and Chinese. Hosted by Washington University in St. Louis.

This is a series of open-access translations, by leading scholars, of important premodern Chinese works. Translations appear alongside quality editions of original Chinese texts. Initially focuses on writings from China’s Middle Period (roughly 1st through 13th centuries CE), including works of poetry, fiction, philosophy, history, and religion. Published by De Gruyter.