Skip to Main Content

bullhorn iconFor FAQs and current status of services and policies see UW Libraries Operations Updates

Research Guides

Introduction

Environmental materials are usually produced by Green Parties, Progressive and Liberal organizations. Several resources have established themselves as influential forces in modern political debate and are recognized independent of a particular political affiliation.

Web Sites

  • Amazing Environmental Organization WebDirectory
    Claiming to be the "earth's biggest environmental search engine," this site allows keyword and category searching of many sites, some of which maintain news archives.

     

  • Earth Times
    Earth Times is the "leading independent international nonpartisan newspaper on the environment and sustainable development," including interrelated issues of population, human rights and trade.

     

  • Envirolink
    Envirolink promotes "Community * Ecology * Connection". It is a non-profit volunteer organization and is supported by environmentally conscious groups, corporations and individuals. This page provides many links to environmentally active groups and also maintains EnviroNews, with links to wire service stories concerning environmental news. Updated daily, but does not appear to have a searchable archive at this time.

     

  • Greenpeace International
    Describing itself as "an independent, campaigning organization which uses non-violent, creative confrontation to expose global environmental problems, and to force solutions which are essential to a green and peaceful future," Greenpeace is one of the most active environmental groups. This site is full of links to press releases explaining Greenpeace actions, reporting threats on the environment, etc.

     

  • Natural Resources Defense Council
    One of the most aggressive environmental groups, Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC) takes a very active role in lobbying for environmental protection through legislation and regulation. It publishes extensive scientific research in support of its causes; some of these studies are available from its website.

 

 

  • World Conservation Monitoring Centre
    The World Conservation Monitoring Centre (WCMC) is an independent nonprofit organization known for locating and managing information on the conservation and sustainable use of the world's living resources. This site is building a number of complex, research-oriented databases, including a very large biodiversity map library, searchable Red Lists for threatened animals and plants, etc.

Materials in the UW Libraries

  • Amicus Journal
    Published by the Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC), Amicus is first an environmental periodical but with a distinctly political voice. NRDC makes the news regularly and Amicus covers current issues. 

     

  • Finance & Development
    A quarterly published by the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund, this journal often covers issues concerning the environment and developing countries. Although it is published by two international governmental agencies, Finance and Development publishes articles that are not necessarily representative of WHO and IMF policies.

     

  • Greenpeace Quarterly
    From one of the most confrontational environmental organizations, this quarterly is "designed to anger, enlighten, enthuse and make possible action at the individual level." It covers legislative issues thoroughly.

     

  • High Country News
    This bi-weekly tabloid covers environmental issues in the West, usually related to land use, federal vs. private rights, water and air pollution, resource depletion and growth. The paper usually promotes strong protection measures.

     

  • National Wildlife
    The official publication of the National Wildlife Federation, this journal usually takes a moderate approach to environmental issues and does not take controversial positions.

     

  • Sierra
    Perhaps the best known environmental magazine, Sierra is published by the Sierra Club, which over the years has become more politicized, often lobbying for stronger environmental protection and taking controversial positions.

     

  • World Watch
    This journal has a reputation for well researched reports bearing on the relationship between the health of the environment and economic development. It promotes a doctrine of sustainable societies, alternative technologies and rethinking traditional economic systems.