Research Guides
Government Sources by Subject: Congressional Issues
Starting Points
- Congress and the Nation1945 – present. Guide to legislation, debates, politics, elections, congressional trends, actions, and controversies. Print only.
- Congressional Digest
This link opens in a new window
1921 - present. Highlights opposing viewpoints of congressional issues, including debates and legislation. Browse by date or search by subject or full text. Also available in print. - CQ Almanac
- This link opens in a new window
1945 - one year ago. Offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session. Arranged thematically, CQ Almanac organizes, distills, and cross-indexes for permanent reference the full year in Congress and in national politics. Also available in print, in 2001 title changed to CQ Almanac Plus. - CQ Magazine
- This link opens in a new window
Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus. A weekly news magazine on government, congress, and politics formerly titled CQ Weekly.
1983-present available online. Use the advanced search to find articles older than six months old.
1956-2004 available in print. Title from 1956-1998 was Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report. - CQ Budget Tracker
- This link opens in a new window
2003 – present. Tool for finding financial information on federal budget and appropriations news, documents, charts, reports regarding bills, resolutions and other congressional actions. - CQ.com HealthBeat
- This link opens in a new window
Health related news, upcoming congressional committee hearings, and selected major document. - CQ Morning Briefing
- This link opens in a new window
Short descriptions of the topics currently in the spotlight and under consideration. Updated daily. - Congress in Context (within Legislative Insight)
- This link opens in a new window
Brief narrative descriptions and hyperlinked lists of major laws enacted, 1789 - present. Arranged by Presidential administration.
Congressional Research Service (CRS)
CRS is a division of the Library of Congress which provides high-quality research and analysis on a variety of topics for members of Congress. The reports created by CRS staff are succinct and well-researched.
- CRS ReportsA growing collection of Congressional Research Service reports direct from the agency, 2018 - .
- Congressional Research Service ReportsGuide to sources for CRS reports by the Gallagher Law Library.
- Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service1916-present. Print Index of CRS reports indexed by title, report number, and order printed on microfilm. Reports can be found in MicNews A6815 and A6816.
- Selected Congressional Research Service Reports on Congress and Its ProceduresCRS reports in this collection from the Law Librarians' Society of Washington D.C. can be downloaded in PDF format. A list of other CRS report collections is included at the bottom of the page.
- EveryCRSReport.com1980s to present. Provides free access to thousands of CRS reports to the general public. (Disclaimer: the site does not actually provide access to every CRS Report)
- Congress.gov Congressional Research Service ReportsPublicly-available CRS reports from 2018-present.
Congressional News
The Congressional News page contains sources for news articles, opinion columns, and blogs about congress.