Skip to Main Content
All Libraries are open, with new expanded hours. Masks required, no eating allowed. Online resources and support are available 24/7
UW Libraries Operations Updates
Census 2000 represented a departure from previous decennial censuses. Respondents could identify themselves as belonging to more than one racial category. It was the last decennial census to employ the long form. The American Community Survey (ACS) has taken the place of the long form. The Census Bureau published very few printed reports; most information was released solely online.
Explore Census Data
Population, housing, economic and geographic information from a variety of surveys, including the the 1990 and 2000 Censuses. This continually updated resource changes as new counts are released.
Census 2000 Data Products at a Glance, U.S. Census Bureau
This grid provides an overview of all products and formats released for the 2000 Census, to the lowest geography represented.
This guide is the UW Libraries portal to a wealth of U.S. Census information: census by decade, census geography, census compilations, guides and documentation, raw data sources, and defining your community for census research.
Demographic Profiles, United States Census 2000
Scroll down through the list and select a state to view a four-page PDF detailing demographic, social, economic and housing characteristics for that state.
Social Explorer, Census Reference, 1790-2010
Selected Census data is from 1790 to the present with tract level data starting in 1940. Social Explorer allows users to create interactive maps and data reports. Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus
United States Census 2000
This is the official gateway to Census 2000 from the United States Census Bureau.
County and City Data for Washington
This Office of Financial Management site includes socioeconomic and demographic information as well as information on cities and towns and on county to county worker flows, from the 2000 Census.
Profiles of General Demographic Characteristics, 2000 Census of Population and Housing, Washington
Population counts for Washington counties, cities and towns (617 page PDF); includes age, sex, race, Hispanic origin, and household characteristics.
Washington, 2000. Summary Population and Housing Characteristics
Very basic Washington data from the "short form" or 100% data, known as "Summary File 1". Choose between a 316 page PDF or the print version from our collection.
Washington 2000. Summary Social, Economic and Housing Characteristics
From the "long form" or sample data, known as "Summary File 3". Choose between a 386 page PDF or the print version from our collection.
Census 2000 Results, Washington State Office of Financial Management (OFM)
This excellent site provides all Summary File 1 (SF1) data for Washington State, giving users the ability to download data to the block level, wherever possible. Files are available in PDF and Excel format; they also include OFM's custom-produced data tables, maps and charts.
Geographic files for use with GIS
Cartographic Boundary Files
The boundary files available for download here are selected generalized extracts from the Census Bureau's TIGER geographic database and are designed for use in a Geographic Information System (GIS) or similar mapping system. They are not map images.
This CD-ROM allows users to create customized reports and maps down to the block group level, around a central geographic point, or for an array of areas simultaneously. This resource may be requested at the Ground Floor reference desk and is filed under call number HA201.122 .C462 2002 (long form data) or HA201.122 .C46 2002 (short form data). The resource is produced by a private company, Geolytics, Inc., and data may not be repackaged or republished.
This CD-ROM may be requested at Ground Floor reference desk, allowing users to select, report, and map data by county or Census blocks. This resource is produced by a private company, Geolytics, Inc., and data may not be repackaged or republished.
Geospatial Data Resources Guide (formerly WAGDA)
Geospatial data for the state of Washington; also contains selected non-Washington geospatial data sets that have been created by students and researchers at the University of Washington.
Geographic Information Services (GIS)
Guide produced by the Map Collection at the University of Washington Libraries.