Skip to Main Content
Select Libraries are open. Online resources and support are available 24/7! Please see our COVID-Update page for reopening dates and hours starting in September. UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
The Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) is a United Nations agency focused on defeating world hunger. The FAO aids developing countries in modernizing and improving agriculture, forestry and fisheries practices and ensuring good nutrition. It works with member countries to devise agricultural policy, support planning, draft effective legislation and create national strategies to achieve rural development and hunger alleviation goals.
The FAO's activities are:
- Putting information within reach
- Sharing policy expertise
- Providing a meeting place for nations
- Bringing knowledge to the field
You can expect to find the following types of information and/or publications from the FAO:
- Technical documents
- Reports and books
FAO Catalogue Online
Use this database to search for documents, publications, books, and serials held in the FAO library. Advanced search is recommended. Note: UW Libraries has many FAO publications in print; search the UW-only catalog. [some FULL TEXT]
FAO Corporate Document Repository
Search for the full text of FAO documents and publications, as well as selected non-FAO publications. [FULL TEXT]
"Provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries." Click the appropriate link on the top of the the page. On the following page click on the link/s, upper left side to retrieve data. Data is not consistently available at any one time.
Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research (CGIAR)
"Created in 1971, CGIAR is an association of public and private members supporting a system of 16 Future Harvest Centers that work in more than 100 countries to mobilize cutting-edge science to reduce hunger and poverty, improve human nutrition and health, and protect the environment."
FAO Statistical Yearbook
A selection of indicators on food and agriculture by country. The data are drawn from FAOSTAT
, the FAO statistical database, as well as several FAO divisions and other sources within the UN system.
FAO Statistics, United Nations
A variety of FAO databases covering agricultural land use, water management, production, trade, consumption, fisheries, forestry, livestock, fertilizers, soil, and more...
Legislative database with direct access to abstracts and full texts of treaties, laws, and regulations on food, agriculture, and renewable resources from all over the world. [FULL TEXT]
Global Information and Early Warning System (GIEWS)
GIEWS keeps the world food supply/demand situation under continuous review, issues reports on the world food situation, and provides early warning of impending food crises in individual countries (see their Country Briefs
). Click on the Publications links in the left-hand bar to access full text reports.
Information for International Agricultural Research (AGRIS)
Search archives and databases covering agriculture, forestry, animal husbandry, aquatic sciences & fisheries, and human nutrition. A good resource for finding unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, conference papers, and government publications. Don't miss the "Databases" list. 1975-present [some FULL TEXT]
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
"Let there be bread."
Learn more about the FAO, its departments, mission, fieldwork, history and more.
FAO - Topics
An alphabetical list of topics (and subtopics) of interest to the FAO. Follow the links to sites and/or databases to find relevant publications and statistics.