Skip to Main Content
Select Libraries are open. Online resources and support are available 24/7! Please see our COVID-Update page for reopening dates and hours starting in September. UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
For foreign statistics, search the UW Libraries Search under LC Subject using name of country and statistics (i.e. France - statistics)
OECD Members and Partners
Includes a general overview, statistics, information by topic, and publications & documents for each of the 33 OECD Member Countries. Some of the same information may be available for Accession Candidate Countries, Enhanced Engagement Countries, and Non-Member Economies.
OECD - Country Statistical Profiles
"This statistical profile, updated yearly, is a snapshot of data selected from more than 40 statistical databases available on SourceOECD, our online library." Browse statistics by theme (demography, finance, labour, etc.) and then refine the results (eg. health: health expenditure).
Includes a wide range of key statistics for OECD member countries and major additional countries. Data presented in tables can be accessed by following a link to an Excel spreadsheet. Information is available in print form, on USB key, and in html form. Also available in print
Oxford Constitutions of the World
English-language versions of all the world's constitutions (both national and sub-national), with jurisdictional commentaries, foundation documents, historical versions of constitutions, and amendment Acts/Laws.
Background Notes/Country Fact Sheets, U.S. Department of State
Relations with the U.S., bi-lateral economic relations, memberships in international organizations, and more. . .
Provided by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress. "This Web site contains the online versions of books previously published (1988-98) in hard copy...Because the original intent of the series' sponsor was to focus primarily on lesser-known areas of the world or regions in which U.S. forces might be deployed, the series is not all-inclusive. At present, 101 countries and regions are are covered."
Search and download data from UN statistical databases. Useful features include country profiles, advanced searching, and glossaries. Databases are organized by theme (Crime, HIV/AIDS, Population, Tourism...).
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Internationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.
A Guide to Countries of the World, Oxford University Press
An up-to-date overview of each country in the world, featuring maps and vital statistics and summaries of the social, economic, religious and political issues that shape each country
CANSIM, Statistics Canada
Canada's key socioeconomic database; updated daily.
Country Profiles, British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC)
A quick guide to the history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, with background on key institutions; also includes audio and video clips from the BBC archives.
Economist Intelligence Unit
Analysis and forecasts on more than 200 countries and six key industries from The Economist
Europa World Plus
Political and economic information for more than 250 countries and territories.
Global Road Warrior: The Ultimate Guide to the World
Provides international travelers with information on 175 countries. Topics include country facts, climate, society & culture, demographics, money and banking, points of interest, transportation, maps, communications, and much more.
Statistical information on India from a variety of sources. Please click on "IP Login" in upper right hand corner to access the database after clicking on IndiaStat.
IPUMS Online Data Analysis System
IPUMS-International is an effort to inventory, preserve, harmonize, and disseminate census microdata from around the world. The project has collected the world's largest archive of publicly available census samples. The data are coded and documented consistently across countries and over time to facillitate comparative research. IPUMS-International makes these data available to qualified researchers free of charge through a web dissemination system.
OECD Country Statistical Profile
Use these tables to find data (by country) on economy, education, energy, environment, foreign aid, health, information and communication, labor, migration, research and development, trade, and society. Data generally available 2001-2008.
The World Factbook, Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities; includes: maps of the major world regions, Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map. Also in print
The Statesman's Yearbook
Information essential for diplomats, politicians and all statesmen involved with international affairs.
A political and physical world map.
Mapping for Results
World Bank data overlaid on Google Maps to give you a fresh, highly visual way to browse WBG projects, news, statistics and public information center by country.
Foreign Information by Country
Created by the Government Publications Library, U. of Colorado Libraries. Note: Some resources and information are only accessible by U of Colorado students/faculty.
List of Foreign Governments
Created by Northwestern University Library, Government Publications & Maps. Use this page to locate links to the official websites of national governments.
OFFSTATS - Official Statistics on the Web
Created by The University of Auckland Library. Search this database to find free statistics from official sources on the web. Note: some resources and information are only accessible by U. of Auckland students/staff.
Countries & Cities
Part of 'Reference Tools' by the UW Libraries. Resources for researching cities, countries, and the Pacific Northwest have been selected and listed on this page.
Numercial systems for statistical coding of countries.